Testimonials

Testimonials

We love this place. We have been twice in the past year, and we have had an amazing time each time. We bring our kids and dog and it’s just magical.

-Amy
December 2022

My two sons and I had one of the most memorable experiences I could ever wish for. This is due to the wonderful family Rancho Grande and the way they treat their guests. 

-Todd
December 2022

It’s such a great place, our 6 year old boys had a blast there’s so much to do and so many animals to see and play with, they were obsessed with Albert the camel. They played basketball, went on buggy rides and fed the goats. We stayed in the cabin which we knew would be a squeeze but was cozy and comfy and you felt right in the middle of everything. Thanks so much!

-Ellie
November 2022

Linda and Alex were the most gracious hosts! This place is truly magical. We went with our three kids ages 6, 3, and 2. Our youngest two loved the free roaming animals . They even got to feed the baby camel a bottle! They saw baby Guinea pigs, and baby chicks, they got dirty in the mud, played fetch with the doggies, and got to feed the goats. Our oldest daughter loved going horseback riding and all the arts and crafts in the rock room. Our fridge was stocked with everything we needed from Ojai Food Taxi and Linda and Alex were so kind to welcome us when we arrived. Run don’t walk here! 🙂

-Gelena
November 2022

The family had a blast. A lot to do. Jeep riding, game room, rowing around the pond, fishing, hiking, hanging out with all the animals, playing basketball, … ran out of time, not things to do. Hosts were very welcoming and attentive. Felt like we owned the 200 acres. Lol. Hike up to the lookout over Fish Camp. Hidden gem and great view. Tents are big and bed was super cozy. If you’re looking for a unique experience away from the hustle and bustle, this is right up your alley.

-Tim
November 2022

Great memories were made with our family at Rancho Grande. We enjoyed our stay and the experience of the ranch. It's a true gem of a place and the hosts are friendly and helpful. The cabin was cozy and it had everything we needed. The kids loved the pond and little boat and of course all the animals and activities. I could go on and on about all the fun things to do and see - fishing, fresh eggs, alpacas, goats, the game room, horseback riding, etc. Thank you for creating such a special place for people to visit.

-Kat
November 2022

This is a very special place. From the moment we arrived, we were graciously welcomed and made to feel completely at home, free to roam and explore as we wished. There is so much to do and see on the property itself, and the hosts are also very knowledgeable and helpful when it comes to other adventures in the area (like epic hikes to incredible views!). From all of the cute and friendly animals (and fresh eggs in the morning!) to the epic games room to the idyllic ponds to the cozy fire pits and hammocks everywhere on the property, it’s the perfect mix of rustic luxury. Our accommodations were spotless and comfortable, anything we needed was there (like headlamps when we forgot our flashlights). There was so much care and attention put into every detail of our stay. And the hosts were incredibly accommodating for any of our needs. It’s an experience you won’t soon forget. Highly recommend!!!!

-Samantha
November 2022

A wonderful place to get away from it all! A beautiful secluded part of the Los Padres National Forest where you can enjoy a ranch living glamping experience. The tent is decorated with great character; the kitchen is equipped for anything you could think of making; the bathrooms are clean and comfortable; the hosts are friendly and very sensitive to our needs; All the animals on the ranch are so friendly. We will definitely come back!

-You
October 2022

What a special place!! The ranch is a gorgeous property that is a perfect getaway and space to unplug. Our son loved all the kind animals- he fed the goats, sheep and llamas and really enjoyed the gator carts and paddle boat on the pond. We felt so relaxed and comfortable here. Richard and Alex have thought of everything to make the stay special and unique! We will be back.

-Pansy
October 2022

I would give 10 stars if I could! This trip exceeded my expectations in every way. 1. The location is magical. The whole property is steeped in character, history and charm. There are a few ponds, large paddocks, hills, a sunset vista and not a neighbor to be seen. The log cabins take you back to another era completely. Richard has taken these 'good bones' and imparted his own creative vision- as a collector of art, antiques (and animals!) his fingerprint is everywhere. The decor in the Cowboy Cabin, game room (Rock Room) and the Lake House feel like a living museum where you could tinker, play, read or hang out for hours. The whole place feels inspired in a very special way. 2. The hospitality is spot on. When you arrive you can pull right up to the family's cabin where they will greet you warmly and offer a tour of the property. Then they will leave you to explore or settle in on your own. At that point you're just part of the ranch, able to roam freely through the animal pens, use the ammenities at will, or collect eggs, look for toads, pick apples, feed the horses or have a campfire. While hanging around you're sure to see friendly faces who will check to make sure you have everything you need. I was surprised that the cowboy had a full kitchen stocked with basics, not to mention a Nespresso machine, plenty of wi-fi and internet TV. They also provided firewood, shampoo/conditioner/body wash and the gift shop had some extra toiletries in case you forgot something. 3. This is what I like to call a 'Fancy Farm'. Personally, I love animals so this was what I refer to as my natural habitat. There were plenty of opportunities to feel helpful around the ranch. We fed the baby camel, the goats, chickens and horses. I was excited to meet the horse trainer, Bex, who lead my 4 and 6 year old boys on their first real horse ride. She was excellent and so worth the extra cost. But the little moments where the most precious- the boys finding a frog, dressing up like cowboys, meeting day-old guinea pigs... they are all the moments that made this short trip memorable. Thank you, Murad Family! We will definitely be back!

-Sarah
October 2022

We had such a wonderful time glamping at Rancho Grande! So many animals! Our 7 year old daughter was in heaven. We loved collecting fresh eggs in the morning, feeding the baby (2 day old!) guinea pigs, riding the horses, mingling all day with the goats, and walking at sunset with the alpacas. The kitchen was great with everything you need to make a feast. We can't wait to come back in the winter when there is snow on the ground!

-Courtney
October 2022

Rancho Grande is the best place to spend family time in nature, truly blessed to have spend for the 3rd time days in Rancho Grande so much to do! Alex, Richard and Linda are the BEST hosts every! We just love it! It was a weekend we will never forget! We all feel at home every time we visit so thank you thank you thank you!

-Martina
October 2022

Rancho Grande is a really special place. Eery aspect of the farm feels grounded in respect - for the natural environment, for all of the farm animals and for the two legged animals who come to visit. We loved our stay and the family, farm and farm animals will stay in our hearts for a very long time to come. Thank you Linda, Alex, Ben, Creampuff, Elbert, Birdie and Rosabella. We hope to visit again soon.

-Savannah Jo
October 2022

Staying at Rancho Grande was an awesome experience! My wife, 2 kids (3 & 9 years old) and I all had a great time. We really enjoyed getting to play with all the animals, drive around in the Gator, and go fishing in the pond. We also opted to do a few extras on the ranch, including taking an astronomy lesson & going on a horseback ride, which we would recommend as well. Rancho Grande is a great place to spend time with family and reconnect with nature.

-Neil
October 2022

This was our second stay at the ranch. It was just as memorable and relaxing as our first stay. This magical place never disappoints.

-Justina
September 2022

This is truly a bucket list family vacation! There is something for everyone - stargazing, fishing, horseback riding, hiking, reading in the hammock, napping, feeding and interacting with the fur babies (rabbits, alpacas, horses, goats, chickens, a baby camel, dogs and more) and cruising around in the Gator. All 8 members of our family LOVED the experience and can't wait to return. The hosts could not have been more warm and welcoming. We feel so blessed that they shared their piece of paradise with us! We rented both tents and the cowboy cabin. Below is a breakdown if you need help choosing which one is best for you: -Cowboy cabin - Includes TV, power, A/C, full kitchen and bathroom within the cabin. My mom appreciated having all the comforts of home. It's closest to the owners and animals. The goats love to visit and eat the leaves falling from the trees surrounding the cabin. -Creek Tent - It's the most remote which I appreciated! You'll need to drive (in the gator) to the bathroom and kitchen. Other than location, its almost identical to the Fish Camp tent. -Fish Tent - Walkable to the bathroom and kitchen but still tucked away for privacy. All of the accomodations were thoughtfully designed and decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable! The HUGE kitchen and dining area became our meeting place for shared meals. This is also where there is power for charging devices. It was such a treat cooking our meals in a restaurant kitchen! The bathrooms are nearby the kitchen and were fantastic. Each tent has it's own locked bathroom which includes a toilet, shower and sink. We stored our toiletries there during the stay which was very convenient. With our faces dusty and sun kissed, we went to bed each night with full hearts! This place is pure magic! We will be back!

-Melanie
 August 2022

Our family loves Rancho Grande. We love everything about this place. It has a lot of activities for all ages. We loved being able to interact with the animals, love the fresh eggs from the chicken coop. We enjoyed the outdoor activities: in the lake (fishing, boating, stand up paddle, and just hanging out) it was so relaxing; great hiking trails, frisbee golf, star gazing at night is so much fun. The amenities are wonderful. You can tell the hosts put a lot of thought and care in maintaining their property. Lots of indoor games and activities in the rock room and the the fish camp Dining area. The tent is big and comfortable for five even for six people, has lots of sitting area, even have books and first aid kit. Restroom is very clean and have lots of supplies. Loved the Kitchen, industrial grade appliances, lots of seating area, and entertainment. Most of all Richard, Alex, Shelli and Linda are so friendly, warm, and accommodating. And we love that that they care for nature so much. We can see that in how they treat the animals and also by running the farm 100% off the grid. Thanks for sharing your farm with us. The animals are all so friendly too. Had a great time and would love to go back again.

-Judynelle
 August 2022

The entire stay was an amazing experience from start to finish. Our party had three kids (one 5yo and two 11yo) and there was something to keep all of them entertained the entire trip. No lamenting the lack of TV or internet (which is a small miracle)! The crew were exceptional and always available to show us their amazing animals, hold the babies *squee* and feed them carrots. We slept like rocks after such active and adventurous days. I felt confident my 5yo would be safe exploring the grounds which gave him a great sense of freedom and adventure. We would love to come back, and will be telling everyone about the Ranch. 5 stars from start to finish. Thank you!

-Cheryl
 August 2022

A wonderful ranch with wonderful people. Everything was as described and we all had a lot of fun. A really perfect place to go with kids. A special highlight was the chefs kitchen. We brought nice food and wine and ate like kings while still feeling like we were living in the outdoors.

-Ryan
 August 2022

Thank you for your amazing hospitality! We had an absolutely wonderful time and enjoyed all of the animals, amenities, and love that your property offers. Every part of our visit was seamless and it was magical to be able to experience so many interactions with the ranch animals. Our kids loved getting up close with all of them, exploring the game room, greenhouse, and fishing/paddle boarding. AND...the morning goat walk was an all-time favorite memory from the trip! There was so much to do which kept everyone happy...we also enjoyed simply sitting back and enjoying some quiet time by the lake. We can't wait to return!

-Jennifer
 August 2022

A second visit for us and we had a fabulous time again. We enjoyed time spent by the lake (and cooking in that wonderful kitchen), we took paddle boards out onto the lake, enjoyed time in the games room and just reveled in spending time as a family in such stunning surroundings. The cabin is utterly charming and we hope to be back again.

-Bini
 August 2022

What an amazing experience! The ranch is beautiful, and the hosts were so generous and kind, and really encouraged us to make ourselves comfortable. We felt at home here right away--roaming around and exploring the property, lounging by the pond, wandering down to feed the goats or grab a few chicken eggs to eat with lunch. The kitchen was huge and well-stocked, and the tents were cool and comfortable even in August. I should also mention that there were no mosquitoes (which is something I was worried about beforehand--we brought lots of bug spray but never used it). We arranged ahead of time for a horseback ride, and J and her daughter were wonderful guides. Overall a super relaxing time, we can't wait to go back!

-Patricia
 August 2022

Outstanding experience! We spent 3 nights with my 4 kids and dad, it was the best. My kids enjoyed just being out in nature, Running around with jeans and cowboy boots. So cool there are lots of animals to interact with and an amazing game room for the kids. Success!! We played baseball, went fishing, boating, swam in lake, pet newborn baby chickens, made friends with goats and a young camel. Had evening fire pit fun with s’mores. Worth it!

-Jason
 August 2022

Incredibly memorable trip.. second time doing this and it somehow got better. The hospitality by Alex and Richard is incredible.. my kids will talk about the Albert the camel and their favorite goats until our next trip to Rancho grande. We’re already planning the next trip.. THIS is the BEST Value on Airbnb. A stay like this is worth at least a 2k a night, probably more. I want to keep this secret oasis to ourselves, but people need to know. You can’t explain the magic, it needs to be experienced in real life. Thank you guys so much again!

-David
  July 2022

Rancho Grande made our summer of 2022 unforgettable. Lots of fun for the kids, nature and comfort together is heaven. We also enjoyed horseback riding with Jay and her wonderful kids. Being able to shower the kids after a long day of fun and having a fully equipped kitchen to cook our meal was amazing. And to end the night with campfire and s’mores while stargazing was magical. Thank you Richard and Alex for sharing your home with us.

-Charisse
  July 2022

We loved our stay at Rancho Grande. Alex is a fantastic host- he is so knowledgeable about the land and clearly so dedicated to the animals. Our kids loved every second of meeting the goats, alpacas, horses, sheep, and Albert, the camel. The dogs welcomed us as if we were family. We went horseback riding throughout the property and enjoyed an astronomy lesson of the stunning night sky. Memories of this beautiful place will stick with us- and we truly hope to come back again!

-Sarah
  July 2022

The property is truly magical! I will be honest, I’m not the most outdoorsy person, but the joy that the ranch brought to my children really makes up for my dislike of bugs. The kids were literally crying the rest of the afternoon that they were going to miss all the animals and most of all Sophie. The tent was really comfortable and pretty cool during the day despite a high of 86. The kitchen was well stocked with many pans, utensils, plates, serving dishes and wood cutting boards. They had everything but I did bring my own beach towels which did come in handy. Alex and Shelly both took time to show us the ranch and animals. Charlie was great checking in on us. And J at the barn was amazing with our horseback ride.

-Lisa
  July 2022

Rancho Grande is a special place and it feels like everything there is prepared with real love and generosity. This was our second visit and I really think my sons will remember this place for a long time.

-Rebekah
  July 2022

We had a wonderful time at the ranch! Everything was perfect. We met a new baby camel named Albert. I think he was the highlight of our trip! We loved all the dogs jumping in the gator and exploring the property with us. Most of them slept in our cabin at night in bed with our kids. Like everyone else’s we felt it was a special place. Waking up and being able to play with the animals whenever we wanted was priceless. We read the entire book about the ranch that was in our cabin. So well done and you can tell the family put a lot of thought and heart into that. The cabin had everything you needed and more. We had amazing water pressure and everyone was able to take nice long showers in the evening which was awesome. Those are the little things:-) Mom’s will not be disappointed! We will definitely be coming back. There is so much more to explore and hopefully more animals to enjoy and love. Thank you. Peter & Thea

-Peter
  July 2022

If you are looking for a remote glamping experience with many amenities then Rancho Grande is the place. Our family rented the two tents/yurts so we had the amazing kitchen to ourselves...had I known that there were commercial sized ovens and all of the baking equipment I would have brought items to make bake. It was very hot during the day but the morning and evenings were beautiful and cool. We loved picking our own veggies from the Greenhouse on the property, riding around the property on the jeeps that were assigned to us and the goats were so much fun to interact with and have around us. It was a very unique experience and a special memory for our family.

-Sarah
  July 2022

We had an amazing two nights at the ranch! It was amazing to disconnect and spend time in nature. Super peaceful and quiet property. The bed in the yurt was super comfortable and well insulated so even late at night it stayed warm. The camp really has everything you need to cook and you can store your food and prepare it in the large commercial kitchen. There is also internet if you need to access it and power to charge your phone and computer in the main spaces. Alex and Richard were super helpful with anything we needed so we felt right at home from the start. If you wake up around 7am you’ll see the goats going for their morning walk 🙂

-Meghan
  June 2022

This was our second time staying at the Rancho Grande. This place is a hidden gem. The animals, the land, the amenities, the natural unspoiled beauty of Ojai… oh so relaxing. It almost feels like you’re on another planet - or in another century, but with all the comforts you can think of (and more). Thank you Alex for introducing us to the animals, and Micah for sharing the stories about the night sky. We love this place and can’t wait to be back.

-Monika
  June 2022

What a magical experience! Truly unlike anything we've ever found before through AirBNB. The Murads were delightful hosts, the property is just stunning, and the array of animals, activities, etc. were thoroughly entertaining for the three small kiddos (and two less-small grownups). We will absolutely return!

-Bradford
  June 2022

What an awesome experience! We decided to give our 3 young kids an introduction to camping and just overall try something different. It was the perfect place for it. There are so many things to do for visitors of all ages but the kids especially loved riding horses, making arts and crafts in the play room, feeding all the animals and fishing at the lake. Our dog had so much fun he can barely walk from all the running around. The yurt is spacious and has plenty of bedding options. We also loved the kitchen/lake lounge. Richard, Alex, and Jay were very accommodating and just great hosts. This is a truly special place.

-Drew
  June 2022

Our family of 5 stayed comfortable at the cabin. Personally, I think the cabin is the most ideal location for family with children (without dog), as we were at the center of everything. We were surrounded by all the friendly animals. My children literally slept with the goats outside the cabin at night. The experience was beyond our imagination. A perfect getaway from the busy LA life and less than 2 hrs drive. You feel like in the middle of the forest (and you are), but with all the perks; internet, modern bathroom, full kitchen etc. The decor in the cabin and the library/game/craft room are very artistic. We love every minute of it and we sure will be back.

-Kim
  May 2022

Everything was so great and we are already planning our next trip back! Perfect and such an amazing escape!

-Johan
  May 2022

I had the best time at Rancho Grande! It is magical and wonderful and I loved the animals and the accommodations this is an experience that you will never forget. You are welcomed, but left alone if you want, sweet animals, beautiful accommodations, it’s indescribable! Book it! You will not be sorry! I will be back soon!!

-Marlene
  May 2022

Our stay at Rancho Grande was beyond amazing! The experience is completely one of a kind. It’s beautiful and relaxing! The animals are so sweet. We have so much fun exploring! The memories we have made are priceless! Richard and Alex are so helpful and accommodating. Can’t wait to return for our 3rd time!

-Tamara
  May 2022

Alex was a terrific host! He gave us space to enjoy Rancho Grande on our own terms while managing to be right there whenever we needed anything. We had the best time ever and will be repeat customers for life. We love the place, the kind way they treat the beautiful animals and the place is stunning. Every single detail is thought out. My daughter had the best birthday ever. Everything about our stay was impeccable.

-Esther
  May 2022

My family and I had such an amazing time at this ranch. I can’t say enough good things about this place. Alex was amazing host! The yurt was incredibly clean, was so remote and being able to play with the animals was extra special. Worth every penny!

-Cassandra
  May 2022

Great clean glamping experience, would be back in a heartbeat! Attentive hosts, tons to do, great experience altogether. Everything you need to cook a great meal, clean restrooms, comfy bed! You won’t regret booking 🙂

-Cynthia
  April 2022

What an amazing experience. Wife and I with our two little kids had an amazing time. Richard and Alex really went above to make us feel like home. Planning our next trip back already!

-Brandon
  April 2022

We loved Rancho Grande - a true choose your own adventure as you meander through this well thought out and beautiful property. With a little one (2 yrs) and a small dog, my husband and I have found it difficult to find a retreat that suits everyone’s needs. But after a long weekend in the cowboy cabin we all came home relaxed and our hearts full. Thank you so much Richard and Alex for giving our family the opportunity to create such wonderful memories together. Your love for the property and the animals that inhabit it truly shined through.

-Justina
  April 2022

Incredible location for a family getaway. We stayed in Fish Camp, a huge safari tent with plenty of room for the 4 of us and a dog, comfy bedding and a heater for colder nights. The common kitchen area is fully stocked. Highlights included the farm tour from Richard to meet all the animals, running with the goats, a hike up the hill and sunset over the lake. Our boys, agree 6 & 9, had the best time.

-Sophie
  April 2022

Alex and Richard are the most generous and caring hosts. They truly love their animals and it shows through everything they do. We spend days feeding & playing with the baby goats, riding & grooming horses, playing basketball, exploring the farm, crafting & reading in the Rock Barn, roasting marshmallows at night and gathering fresh eggs for breakfast every morning. And yet we haven’t even scratched the surface of all the possible things to do since our kids were too little to go on a fossil hunt or a more adventurous hike. It also was a little too cool to swim as temperatures at the elevation of the farm were about 10 degrees less than in Ojai. We would highly recommend a stay at Rancho Grande for nature and animal lovers as well as everyone with kids. Stay in the center of all the action and among the goats at the Cowboy Cabin or the yurts towards the lakes at the back end of the property. You don’t need to bring much else than meal supplies since there is also a lovingly curated general store on site that offers everything from s’more kits to sunscreen to farm inspired home decor and toys, sodas and a tasteful selection of clothing for big and small (Thank you Linda). Our kids are already planning a trip back with their friends 💚

-Margit
  April 2022

The ranch was a unique experience for us! It was truly wonderful to enjoy the relaxing peace that nature affords- loved the sound of the babbling brook outside our tent and enjoyed all the animals up close! The hosts were very hospitable and helpful. I’ve already recommended the experience to our travel agent and would like my son and daughter-in-law to bring their young family to the ranch- they will love the animals!

-Palma
  April 2022

Not enough amazing things to say about rancho grande. The second I discovered this place I could’ve wait to visit. The best place for kids, the best place for adults to simply unwind and take in the incredible scenery, the adorable animals, and pure beauty of the place. Alex and Richard could not have been more accommodating and did whatever it took to make sure we were relaxed and comfortable. We did the star gazing with an astronomy teacher and horseback riding around the property which were both super memorable experiences for all. Would highly recommend this gem of a place to all!

-Tali
  April 2022

This is a one of a kind stay and the longer you stay the more you’ll enjoy. I wish I stayed a few more days! We’ll be back!

-Grace
  April 2022

Such an amazing property. Our kids and golden retriever had a blast. So much to do and an ideal setting to relax. The hosts are extremely welcoming and accommodating. We hope to be back again one day. Can’t say enough nice things about Rancho Grande!!

-Mark
  March 2022

Our family’s fourth trip here. This is a magical place with the most generous and gracious hosts. Baby goats abound! We love Rancho Grande!

-Gauri
  March 2022

We had a great visit to Rancho Grande! Richard and Alex were very kind and welcoming. Our 5-year-old loved canoeing, riding on the gator, fishing, cooking over the fire pit, and watching the goat run. The board games and toys were a nice surprise. I especially loved meeting all the adorable animals. We lucked out and were the only guests for the duration of our stay, the privacy was unbeatable. Make sure to bring plenty of food to take advantage of the fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom was very clean and stocked with towels, body wash, and shampoo. Richard and Alex were always available to answer questions. We can’t wait to return!

-Jin Yan
  March 2022

Wowowowow! We had such an amazing stay. Richard and Alex really have thought of everything. As others have stated, the baby goats are the highlights. But we also enjoyed boating on the pond, playing basketball, throwing horseshoes (first time ever!), relaxing on a beach chair reading a book, collecting fresh eggs for breakfast, looking through a high powered telescope at various stars, Uranus and the andromeda Galaxy, petting alpaca, making s’mores and running around/hiking up spectacular mountains. This place is phenomenal if you enjoy the outdoors.

-Anne
  March 2022

What a fantastic and unique experience! Rancho Grande has so much to offer - my sons loved interacting with all the animals, especially the goats (and baby goats, so adorable!). There's so much to explore here - fields, hiking trails, old airstream trailers, ponds with boats we could take out, fish. My 16 year old LOVED driving the gator all around the property and looking at the night sky with Alex's incredible telescope. There are also all the supplies you could want for arts & crafts, games, books. Our yurt was clean and comfortable. And the hosts are SO accommodating, offering us jackets and sunglasses when we hit an unexpectedly cold and windy day, available to show us around or let us have space - whichever we preferred. Highly recommend!