Testimonials

Testimonials

My family and I had such an amazing time at this ranch. I can’t say enough good things about this place. Alex was amazing host! The yurt was incredibly clean, was so remote and being able to play with the animals was extra special. Worth every penny!

-Cassandra
  May 2022

Great clean glamping experience, would be back in a heartbeat! Attentive hosts, tons to do, great experience altogether. Everything you need to cook a great meal, clean restrooms, comfy bed! You won’t regret booking 🙂

-Cynthia
  April 2022

What an amazing experience. Wife and I with our two little kids had an amazing time. Richard and Alex really went above to make us feel like home. Planning our next trip back already!

-Brandon
  April 2022

We loved Rancho Grande - a true choose your own adventure as you meander through this well thought out and beautiful property. With a little one (2 yrs) and a small dog, my husband and I have found it difficult to find a retreat that suits everyone’s needs. But after a long weekend in the cowboy cabin we all came home relaxed and our hearts full. Thank you so much Richard and Alex for giving our family the opportunity to create such wonderful memories together. Your love for the property and the animals that inhabit it truly shined through.

-Justina
  April 2022

Incredible location for a family getaway. We stayed in Fish Camp, a huge safari tent with plenty of room for the 4 of us and a dog, comfy bedding and a heater for colder nights. The common kitchen area is fully stocked. Highlights included the farm tour from Richard to meet all the animals, running with the goats, a hike up the hill and sunset over the lake. Our boys, agree 6 & 9, had the best time.

-Sophie
  April 2022

Alex and Richard are the most generous and caring hosts. They truly love their animals and it shows through everything they do. We spend days feeding & playing with the baby goats, riding & grooming horses, playing basketball, exploring the farm, crafting & reading in the Rock Barn, roasting marshmallows at night and gathering fresh eggs for breakfast every morning. And yet we haven’t even scratched the surface of all the possible things to do since our kids were too little to go on a fossil hunt or a more adventurous hike. It also was a little too cool to swim as temperatures at the elevation of the farm were about 10 degrees less than in Ojai. We would highly recommend a stay at Rancho Grande for nature and animal lovers as well as everyone with kids. Stay in the center of all the action and among the goats at the Cowboy Cabin or the yurts towards the lakes at the back end of the property. You don’t need to bring much else than meal supplies since there is also a lovingly curated general store on site that offers everything from s’more kits to sunscreen to farm inspired home decor and toys, sodas and a tasteful selection of clothing for big and small (Thank you Linda). Our kids are already planning a trip back with their friends 💚

-Margit
  April 2022

The ranch was a unique experience for us! It was truly wonderful to enjoy the relaxing peace that nature affords- loved the sound of the babbling brook outside our tent and enjoyed all the animals up close! The hosts were very hospitable and helpful. I’ve already recommended the experience to our travel agent and would like my son and daughter-in-law to bring their young family to the ranch- they will love the animals!

-Palma
  April 2022

Not enough amazing things to say about rancho grande. The second I discovered this place I could’ve wait to visit. The best place for kids, the best place for adults to simply unwind and take in the incredible scenery, the adorable animals, and pure beauty of the place. Alex and Richard could not have been more accommodating and did whatever it took to make sure we were relaxed and comfortable. We did the star gazing with an astronomy teacher and horseback riding around the property which were both super memorable experiences for all. Would highly recommend this gem of a place to all!

-Tali
  April 2022

This is a one of a kind stay and the longer you stay the more you’ll enjoy. I wish I stayed a few more days! We’ll be back!

-Grace
  April 2022

Such an amazing property. Our kids and golden retriever had a blast. So much to do and an ideal setting to relax. The hosts are extremely welcoming and accommodating. We hope to be back again one day. Can’t say enough nice things about Rancho Grande!!

-Mark
  March 2022

Our family’s fourth trip here. This is a magical place with the most generous and gracious hosts. Baby goats abound! We love Rancho Grande!

-Gauri
  March 2022

We had a great visit to Rancho Grande! Richard and Alex were very kind and welcoming. Our 5-year-old loved canoeing, riding on the gator, fishing, cooking over the fire pit, and watching the goat run. The board games and toys were a nice surprise. I especially loved meeting all the adorable animals. We lucked out and were the only guests for the duration of our stay, the privacy was unbeatable. Make sure to bring plenty of food to take advantage of the fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom was very clean and stocked with towels, body wash, and shampoo. Richard and Alex were always available to answer questions. We can’t wait to return!

-Jin Yan
  March 2022

Wowowowow! We had such an amazing stay. Richard and Alex really have thought of everything. As others have stated, the baby goats are the highlights. But we also enjoyed boating on the pond, playing basketball, throwing horseshoes (first time ever!), relaxing on a beach chair reading a book, collecting fresh eggs for breakfast, looking through a high powered telescope at various stars, Uranus and the andromeda Galaxy, petting alpaca, making s’mores and running around/hiking up spectacular mountains. This place is phenomenal if you enjoy the outdoors.

-Anne
  March 2022

What a fantastic and unique experience! Rancho Grande has so much to offer - my sons loved interacting with all the animals, especially the goats (and baby goats, so adorable!). There's so much to explore here - fields, hiking trails, old airstream trailers, ponds with boats we could take out, fish. My 16 year old LOVED driving the gator all around the property and looking at the night sky with Alex's incredible telescope. There are also all the supplies you could want for arts & crafts, games, books. Our yurt was clean and comfortable. And the hosts are SO accommodating, offering us jackets and sunglasses when we hit an unexpectedly cold and windy day, available to show us around or let us have space - whichever we preferred. Highly recommend!

-Jen
  March 2022

The spot is family heaven! The animals the scenery the facilities everything is absolutely perfect and as it should be.

-Heather
  March 2022

We had another beautiful visit to this magical place. This year, we spent most of our days frolicking with the sweet baby goats. They were so much fun! We also drove around the property on our UTV, exploring the lake, relaxing on the hammocks, hiking, and saying hello to the animals. Our kids also got to go horseback riding, which was a treat! Rancho Grande is a beautiful place to unwind and just be present with your loved ones. You never run out of things to do. Richard and Alex were the most welcoming and kindest hosts, always making sure we were having a good time and were well taken care of. Thank you. We hope to return again next year!

-Erika
  March 2022

being “city folk”— places like this are great if not necessary for our sanity. Our girls (and us) had a blast at the ranch. Alex and Richard were super helpful- and we fell in love with every single animal there. Looking forward to coming back! Note: the heaters in the yurt were more than sufficient in keeping our whole family warm.

-Sue
  March 2022

What an incredible place to stay! This was the perfect bday getaway for my 7 year old son, the animals, the lake and boats and the scenery made his bday very special! Also the gator you get to drive around while you’re there was so much fun. We’ll be back for sure.

-Britt
  March 2022

This felt like a once in a lifetime experience for my family. The kids had an absolute blast holding goats, talking with parrots, riding horses (extra cost), and interecting with Alpacas. The rock room also gave them a summer camp type of experience with games, crafts, and other fun activities. Exploring the ranch in our little tractor car was an experience in itself, and my wife and I loved cooking up fresh eggs, and keeping the log fire heater going. Richard and his family were incredible, and you can tell Alex loves showing off his animals.

-Jake
  March 2022

One of our favorite places on the planet. Alex and Richard are so easygoing and kind and accommodating and helpful. Rancho Grande is just magical!

-Gina
  March 2022

Rancho Grande was one of, if not the most, remarkable experiences we've had at any stay away from home. The hosts Richard and Alex were great the entire time, both very attentive but gave us all the space we needed/wanted to make sure our stay was special. We enjoyed conversing with all of them including Linda as they were all such sweet people. We can't stress how much we loved all the animals ESPECIALLY the goats! We stayed in the cabin directly across from the baby goats so we always made sure to say good morning and good night to them. As for the cabin, although it was cold outside the furnace inside kept us very warm. At night the stars are remarkable because the Ranch is so secluded that light pollution doesn't affect the night sky. And the lake is beautiful, especially during sunset as the light reflects perfectly off it. I could talk forever about how many more great things there are to experience at Rancho Grande that we didn't even get a chance to experience ourselves but it's best to take it all in for yourself! We will definitely be back multiple times in the future as we loved this location!

-Matt
  February 2022

Hands down the most magical air bnb experience we’ve ever had! It’s like going back in time to the old west, but in total comfort. Incredible vistas, a super charming cabin, friendly, lovable animals, lots to do (or not do) and lovely hosts. We had a horseback ride, rode our bikes on the property, drove all around the ranch in the John Deere Gator provided for us, and we visited with countless sweet farm animals. We explored a picturesque greenhouse, old fashioned carriages, and a huge, gorgeous rec room stocked with books and games. We explored flat and rocky terrain. We watched the sun come up over the mountains. We lounged in hammocks under huge pines. We would have done an astrology lesson at night but we were exhausted from our incredible day. We will definitely be back with our 5 year old as soon as we can.

-Lydia
  February 2022

Unforgettable weekend trip celebrating our son’s 13th birthday. The property has breathtaking views and the amount of animals on the ranch just warms your heart. Our family and friends both stayed in the 2 yurts and we had so much fun cooking, playing with the animals, and hanging out on the ponds. The kitchen was fully stocked and the fresh eggs from the farm were the best we have ever had! This place is spectacular and very special. Highlight of the trip was being able to run with the goats in the morning. I wish I could start my morning like that everyday!!! I highly recommend if you want to disconnect and cannot wait to come back and visit. Thank you Richard for the amazing hospitality. 🙏🏼

-Eileen
  February 2022

We brought our toddler twin girls here to celebrate their birthdays and they had the most amazing time. They were able to run free and loved spending time with the animals. We have memories to last a lifetime and are looking forward to bringing more of our friends and extended family through to experience this magical place. Thank you!

-Seema
  February 2022

One of the best Air BnB’s I’ve ever stayed at. This is not just a Yurt, rather an entire experience. Living in the city, you rarely get to connect with nature and interact with animals, but here it’s a whole other world. Animals everywhere, nature as far as your eyes can see. No cell service but that’s a blessing in disguise (and there’s wifi all over the ranch, so if you reaaaally need to be on your phone, you can be). Everyone here is amazing, and the best hosts you could as ask for. Sincerely genuine people, and so kind. Thanks again for an amazing few days!

-Sean
  February 2022

Every detail of our experience at Rancho Grande was so thought out and perfect. We loved all the touches and you could tell that the owners’ hearts were in it. Our kids were obsessed with the baby goats and mini horses. The adults loved that they could relax and sit back without worry and knowing the kids were safe and having fun. The rock room was a crafters paradise and so extensive and elaborate with arts and crafts. This ranch had everything and nothing was spared. We definitely are rebooking for another visit this summer!

-Pantea
  February 2022

Truly a magical place. I dont think we were prepared for how unplugged were going to be but the place was phenomenal and the hosts were incredibly welcoming and thoughtful. We will definitely return

-Kevin
  February 2022

First off, when you come close to those gates, simply breathtaking and nothing I’ve seen before. It’s a family owner operated farm and your family will fit in perfectly. Beautiful and friendly animals, gorgeous scenery and you get to use a Gator to ride around. It was cold at night but the two heaters and comfy bed with nice warm blankets made it a very nice experience. It may be Richard or his wife, but one of them has beautiful taste. Everything makes you feel like you are not in California, but somewhere where cowboys once were. You just have to see it to believe it, but better yet, experience it. Richard, Alex, we’re very accommodating and are more then willing to help you in any way, no questions asked. Very friendly guys and they made it seem like we were part of the farm because they have us everything we need to stay there for 2 nights. Just bring your own food, drinks and snacks, and you are set off to your once in a lifetime adventure. We will be staying here every season to experience all 4 types of weather seasons. Many many thanks Richard and Alex.

-Marie Nicole
  February 2022

Alex and Richard are such sweet, thoughtful and kind hosts, always asking us if we need anything, stocking us with s’mores kits, and welcoming us with smiles to meet the animals. This was our third visit to Rancho Grande because our family loves coming to retreat here in this warm and cozy cabin. The tiny baby goats and paddle boat were hits this time. This ranch is all heart. Thank you, Rancho Grande family.

-Gauri
  January 2022

What a wonderful place to create unforgetable family memories. We were able to unplug and enjoy nature in a beautiful and safe environment. The kids enjoy the Lake swimming, fishing and canoeing all day. We met all the farm animals including the Scarlet Macaws. My wife and I loved the fresh eggs and veggies from the garden. The vibe there was relax and slow down and enjoy yourself. We had a great time driving the Atv to explore the property. The private bathrooms were fully stocked and clean. You could cook a feast in the kitchen. It had a commercial refrigerator and freezer, all the pots, pans, mugs, plates and utensils you could think of. There was even a deli meat slicer. Coffee in the morning and smores in the evening next to the firepit was so nice. The Rock room was nice to hang out and play darts, pool, a boardgame and even read a book. We wish we had more time to spend here, the weekend went by too fast. We will definitely be back. Thank you Alex and Richard.

-Viphouthone
  November 2021

This ranch exceeded expectations. The owners have gone out of their way to supply everything you might want, from ready to use fishing poles, to an introduction to all the animals, to high quality linens and kitchen items and games and firewood and the list goes on... Our 2 9 year old boys and two dogs had the time of their lives.

-Paul
  November 2021

This has been the second year we take our whole family, we just have to much fun here its so relaxing, calming and peaceful will be back next year God willing .. best place ever

-Eva
  November 2021

We stayed 3 nights at Fish Camp. We had a blast! The industrial gas heater kept the tent very warm at night. The restroom is a short distance away. We went around the ranch on the “Gator” provided. It was convenient with added fun. We used the industrial kitchen to make our breakfast and dinners. It was very well stocked. Bring some oil or butter since that’s the only thing we couldn’t find. The “Library” was our favorite place to hang at night. It has a pool table, cable tv and tons of games and books. During the day, we spent a lot of time with the 150 sweet goats. They were the friendliest animals we’ve ever met. They’ll come up to you to hang out. There are also cows, horses, miniature horses, sheep, alpacas, chickens, pigs… all of the animals are very adorable and sweet. Bring enough groceries, you won’t want to leave to get food once you are here. We tried all of the boats on the pond, a paddle boat, kayak and canoe. There are fishing poles if you are interested in fishing catfish. We really enjoyed our stay! There were so many activities to do! We will be visiting again!

-Jiping
  November 2021

This is our 3rd time staying on the Ranch with our family. We have 3 boys, ages 16, 9 & 7, and it's not always easy finding activities that our whole family enjoys. Rancho Grande has become a special place for us to visit because it has something that they all love. From the gator that you cruise around on the ranch, all of the animals, the game room, the pond ( our kiddos wear wetsuits and have a blast playing in it), little hikes around the property to name a few. Its so nice to get the family away from screens, cell phones, and to spend some quality time together. I love that you are fully submersed in the outdoor experience on the ranch, but still have a bathroom, shower, and since I prepare the family meals, I extra appreciate the fully stocked kitchen. We are already planning our next visit!

-Alicia
  October 2021

We came up to Rancho Grande because our house was being tented for termites, a stressful situation. Once we turned into the the ranch all our stress fell away. The land, vistas, the cabin we stayed in and hospitality we received made our stay so fun and relaxing. Rancho Grande is a must stay for those who want an outdoor getaway with sweet animal experiences. We highly recommend a stay! We will be back soon to try out the tents!

-Raymond
  October 2021

This was our second trip this year and it was better than the first. We enjoyed petting the ponies and alpacas (make sure to bring carrots!) and gazing the stars at night. The hosts are very welcoming and the location is beautiful. We'll definitely be coming back in the future.

-Roman
  October 2021

Everything a family with kids would love. Star gazing with a local teacher as a guide, horse riding with personal attention, a pond to fish, swim and boat. Fresh eggs straight from the chicken coop. Goats, sheeps, alpacas, mini horses. 200 hundred acres with just one cabin and two tents. Lots of personal space. Absolutely loved the ranch, will return.

-Jun
  October 2021

There aren’t enough positive words in the English language to do this adventure justice. Everything was PINNACLE. Any argument is invalid. We love it here.

-Devan
  October 2021

One of a kind experience at a unique location. Alex and Richard were so accommodating and helped make our stay so special. The goat walk was a highlight- nothing like it. Fresh eggs for breakfast, seeing Saturn after dinner. We can't wait to go back and share it with friends

-Linda
  October 2021

Such a magical place- I can’t believe this exists 2 hours from LA. My children and I had the time of our lives. 3 days without screens and no one noticed. We will be back!!!

-Bethany
  September 2021

Simply heavenly. The family lets guests roam the grounds, in and out of animal pens. We had access to the boats on the lake, fishing rods and bait…all the fabulous kitchen amenities in that lakeside kitchen fit for kings. Our kids had the time of their lives, as did we. It was truly magical.

-Jenna
  September 2021

Can’t really say enough about the ranch, the hosts, the animals…everything. Just the perfect spot to slow down and connect with family and nature. Can’t wait to bring my family back.

-Ross
  September 2021

We spent an adventure-filled weekend at Rancho Grande. We enjoyed exploring the ranch via the gator, boating, fishing, interacting with the animals and hanging out by the lake. Richard was welcoming and a wonderful host. The stargazing session with an astronomy teacher (an add-on) is highly recommended.

-Anna
  September 2021

There is no other place like Rancho Grande. This was our second visit this year and we still had new experiences. Richard and Alex are such welcoming hosts and the accommodations are terrific - everything you need. And so many things to do and see: we fished, we tried out the hammocks, we went horseback riding, we visited with the alpacas, the chicks and the beyond cute miniature horse and her foal. We visited some old friends and made some new ones. Can’t wait to return!

-Jennie
  September 2021

We came here with our two boys age 5 and 6 and created many memories! Richard has a very nice family, Alex and Shelly both such animal lovers and introduced us to the wonderful goats, alpacas and sheep. Enjoyed some horseback riding with Kerry, the trainer, who was great with the boys. Fishing, driving around in the gator, astronomy lesson at night. It was wonderful. Thank you!

-Shadi
  September 2021

Fantastic respite from the ordinary. So very relaxing and invigorating all at the same time. We LOVED Rancho Grande. Alex's love of the goats was infectious, the Rock (Game) Room was beyond entertaining, our boys were obsessed with rides on the John Deere Gator, the boats on the lake were a blast, the astronomy lesson with the two telescopes on property (a must do extra), and the alpacas and tons of eggs in the chicken coop made it such a memorable stay. Alex and Richard went above and beyond and are consummate hosts. Their attention to detail and helpfulness made things so easy. They appeared out of nowhere when you needed them, but gave us tons of privacy to just roam the 200 acres and explore. Unforgettable. Many thanks.

-Cindy
  September 2021

Rancho Grande is the perfect place to get away from it all. Richard greeted us right away and made us feel at home. We had picked up groceries along the way so he immediately showed us the way to Shelly’s Shake to offload. Shelly’s Shake is a large gathering room with an equally large kitchen, located right next to the beautiful lake where we spent most of our time swimming, fishing and boating. The water was the perfect temperature. When we weren’t in the water we were cooking in the kitchen, grilling burgers on the BBQ, napping in the hammocks, playing pool in the game room, driving the trails, playing with the dogs and roasting marshmallows. The Yurts were beautifully decorated, perfectly ventilated and nestled against the forest. The cabin (with A/C) was centrally located near all the animals. Mornings were spectacular. With my coffee in hand and sitting on the porch I would watch the goats, chickens, dogs and squirrels play. We gathered fresh eggs from the chicken coup, said hello to the pigs in passing and visited with the horses and Alpacas. A very unique experience was when Alex brought the goats out for their morning walk. The goats were so friendly. They gathered around us, all 125 of them, as we fed them fresh apples from the trees. So fun 😊 Nights were breathtaking – with no city lights the sky was filled with stars and the Milky Way. After a very long day of working on the ranch Alex offered to show us Saturn and Jupiter through this high powered telescope he had located in a field. The site of Saturn's rings and the shades of Jupiter were like pictures out of a textbook - truly amazing. I recommend having night binoculars. While sitting next to the campfire by the lake we heard something – looking through our night binoculars we could see a Mama Dear and her babies drinking from the lake. The next day we spotted them up in the mountains. Richard and Alex were very considerate, thoughtful and helpful. Alex was always around to assist us with whatever we needed. Even while working Alex would stop to talk with us about the ranch. We couldn’t have felt more welcomed and comfortable. We are already planning our next trip to Rancho Grande with more of our friends. I highly recommend visiting the ranch. You won’t want to leave 😊

-Linda
  September 2021

Our stay at Rancho Grande was truly the highlight of our summer vacation! Alex and Richard are incredibly welcoming hosts, accommodating and easy going. They took time to show us around, patiently answered our questions and frequently checked in with us to make sure we were happy and comfortable while giving us the space to explore, relax, and experience the ranch on our own. We appreciated all the thoughtful details put into creating this wonderful experience (fishing poles and bait ready for our use, our own gator to get around, hammocks everywhere, access to fresh eggs and the greenhouse endless opportunities for games and relaxation throughout). We had everything we could possibly need and then some! Our tent and bed were lovely, with plenty of space and privacy. Our family bathroom was clean, comfortable and perfectly situated. The amazingly well-stocked chief's kitchen, wonderful to cook in. We loved the eclectic decor, and the humorous touches throughout the ranch. Our 12 year old son had a great time chasing bull frogs at night, catching fish off the dock/boats, and learning to play pool in the rock room. We loved hanging out by the pond, listening to music while cooking on the BBQ and relaxing around the fire pit. Special highlights: walking and interacting with the goats, and Alex kindly showing us Saturn, Jupiter and the Milky Way with their cool telescope! We can't say enough good things about our stay at Rancho Grande!

-Elisha
  August 2021

We stayed at the Howard Creek Camp. Furnished glamping in a safari tent on a carpeted concrete faux wood platform. Fresh salad fixings from the greenhouse and fresh eggs made for real farm to table meals. Connected with the ponies, sheep, chickens, alpacas, dogs, goats, and horses - sharing the space and efforts. Pond is good for easy boating for kids. Went everywhere on John Deere Gator cart - fun! Perfect if you want to unplug from the busy droning of city life.

-David
  August 2021

This is such a fun experience! We lived six weeks of summer camp in a weekend with our kids at Rancho Grande. Richard and Alex were amazing hosts. They were so welcoming. They showed us around the property and let us interact with the animals whenever we wanted. We fished. we swam, we boated, we roasted marshmallows and cooked s’mores, picked up eggs from the chicken coup first thing in the morning, rode all around the property, played with llamas, and chased goats - I love those goats. We had the most laid back and, yet entertaining time. We can’t wait to come back!

-Scott
  August 2021

We had such a great time during our stay. The Ranch is absolutely magical and truly one of the most special places I have been to. There is so much to do at the ranch. You can hike, play with farm animal, swim and fish in the pond, play games in the amazing game room, play basketball or even play baseball on the field. Yes they have a baseball field!! My kids really enjoyed driving all over the farm in the gator tractor that the owners give you to use during your stay. The most memorable part of our trip was the goat walk. We got to take a walk with 150 goats. It was fantastic! The host Alex and Richard are such amazing people. They were so welcoming! We cant wait to go back!

-Denise
  August 2021

Only need One word to describe Rancho Grande… Magical. Our family has fallen head over heels for this place. From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave, Alex and Richard go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. We are already trying to align the stars (our calendars 🤣) for our next return. Can’t wait to come back and give all of those animals some hugs! Thanks again for the special memories!