Testimonials

Testimonials

What a wonderful place to create unforgetable family memories. We were able to unplug and enjoy nature in a beautiful and safe environment. The kids enjoy the Lake swimming, fishing and canoeing all day. We met all the farm animals including the Scarlet Macaws. My wife and I loved the fresh eggs and veggies from the garden. The vibe there was relax and slow down and enjoy yourself. We had a great time driving the Atv to explore the property. The private bathrooms were fully stocked and clean. You could cook a feast in the kitchen. It had a commercial refrigerator and freezer, all the pots, pans, mugs, plates and utensils you could think of. There was even a deli meat slicer. Coffee in the morning and smores in the evening next to the firepit was so nice. The Rock room was nice to hang out and play darts, pool, a boardgame and even read a book. We wish we had more time to spend here, the weekend went by too fast. We will definitely be back. Thank you Alex and Richard.

-Viphouthone
  November 2021

This ranch exceeded expectations. The owners have gone out of their way to supply everything you might want, from ready to use fishing poles, to an introduction to all the animals, to high quality linens and kitchen items and games and firewood and the list goes on... Our 2 9 year old boys and two dogs had the time of their lives.

-Paul
  November 2021

This has been the second year we take our whole family, we just have to much fun here its so relaxing, calming and peaceful will be back next year God willing .. best place ever

-Eva
  November 2021

We stayed 3 nights at Fish Camp. We had a blast! The industrial gas heater kept the tent very warm at night. The restroom is a short distance away. We went around the ranch on the “Gator” provided. It was convenient with added fun. We used the industrial kitchen to make our breakfast and dinners. It was very well stocked. Bring some oil or butter since that’s the only thing we couldn’t find. The “Library” was our favorite place to hang at night. It has a pool table, cable tv and tons of games and books. During the day, we spent a lot of time with the 150 sweet goats. They were the friendliest animals we’ve ever met. They’ll come up to you to hang out. There are also cows, horses, miniature horses, sheep, alpacas, chickens, pigs… all of the animals are very adorable and sweet. Bring enough groceries, you won’t want to leave to get food once you are here. We tried all of the boats on the pond, a paddle boat, kayak and canoe. There are fishing poles if you are interested in fishing catfish. We really enjoyed our stay! There were so many activities to do! We will be visiting again!

-Jiping
  November 2021

This is our 3rd time staying on the Ranch with our family. We have 3 boys, ages 16, 9 & 7, and it's not always easy finding activities that our whole family enjoys. Rancho Grande has become a special place for us to visit because it has something that they all love. From the gator that you cruise around on the ranch, all of the animals, the game room, the pond ( our kiddos wear wetsuits and have a blast playing in it), little hikes around the property to name a few. Its so nice to get the family away from screens, cell phones, and to spend some quality time together. I love that you are fully submersed in the outdoor experience on the ranch, but still have a bathroom, shower, and since I prepare the family meals, I extra appreciate the fully stocked kitchen. We are already planning our next visit!

-Alicia
  October 2021

We came up to Rancho Grande because our house was being tented for termites, a stressful situation. Once we turned into the the ranch all our stress fell away. The land, vistas, the cabin we stayed in and hospitality we received made our stay so fun and relaxing. Rancho Grande is a must stay for those who want an outdoor getaway with sweet animal experiences. We highly recommend a stay! We will be back soon to try out the tents!

-Raymond
  October 2021

We came up to Rancho Grande because our house was being tented for termites, a stressful situation. Once we turned into the the ranch all our stress fell away. The land, vistas, the cabin we stayed in and hospitality we received made our stay so fun and relaxing. Rancho Grande is a must stay for those who want an outdoor getaway with sweet animal experiences. We highly recommend a stay! We will be back soon to try out the tents!

-Raymond
  October 2021

We came up to Rancho Grande because our house was being tented for termites, a stressful situation. Once we turned into the the ranch all our stress fell away. The land, vistas, the cabin we stayed in and hospitality we received made our stay so fun and relaxing. Rancho Grande is a must stay for those who want an outdoor getaway with sweet animal experiences. We highly recommend a stay! We will be back soon to try out the tents!

-Raymond
  October 2021

This was our second trip this year and it was better than the first. We enjoyed petting the ponies and alpacas (make sure to bring carrots!) and gazing the stars at night. The hosts are very welcoming and the location is beautiful. We'll definitely be coming back in the future.

-Roman
  October 2021

Everything a family with kids would love. Star gazing with a local teacher as a guide, horse riding with personal attention, a pond to fish, swim and boat. Fresh eggs straight from the chicken coop. Goats, sheeps, alpacas, mini horses. 200 hundred acres with just one cabin and two tents. Lots of personal space. Absolutely loved the ranch, will return.

-Jun
  October 2021

There aren’t enough positive words in the English language to do this adventure justice. Everything was PINNACLE. Any argument is invalid. We love it here.

-Devan
  October 2021

One of a kind experience at a unique location. Alex and Richard were so accommodating and helped make our stay so special. The goat walk was a highlight- nothing like it. Fresh eggs for breakfast, seeing Saturn after dinner. We can't wait to go back and share it with friends

-Linda
  October 2021

Such a magical place- I can’t believe this exists 2 hours from LA. My children and I had the time of our lives. 3 days without screens and no one noticed. We will be back!!!

-Bethany
  September 2021

Simply heavenly. The family lets guests roam the grounds, in and out of animal pens. We had access to the boats on the lake, fishing rods and bait…all the fabulous kitchen amenities in that lakeside kitchen fit for kings. Our kids had the time of their lives, as did we. It was truly magical.

-Jenna
  September 2021

Can’t really say enough about the ranch, the hosts, the animals…everything. Just the perfect spot to slow down and connect with family and nature. Can’t wait to bring my family back.

-Ross
  September 2021

We spent an adventure-filled weekend at Rancho Grande. We enjoyed exploring the ranch via the gator, boating, fishing, interacting with the animals and hanging out by the lake. Richard was welcoming and a wonderful host. The stargazing session with an astronomy teacher (an add-on) is highly recommended.

-Anna
  September 2021

There is no other place like Rancho Grande. This was our second visit this year and we still had new experiences. Richard and Alex are such welcoming hosts and the accommodations are terrific - everything you need. And so many things to do and see: we fished, we tried out the hammocks, we went horseback riding, we visited with the alpacas, the chicks and the beyond cute miniature horse and her foal. We visited some old friends and made some new ones. Can’t wait to return!

-Jennie
  September 2021

We came here with our two boys age 5 and 6 and created many memories! Richard has a very nice family, Alex and Shelly both such animal lovers and introduced us to the wonderful goats, alpacas and sheep. Enjoyed some horseback riding with Kerry, the trainer, who was great with the boys. Fishing, driving around in the gator, astronomy lesson at night. It was wonderful. Thank you!

-Shadi
  September 2021

Fantastic respite from the ordinary. So very relaxing and invigorating all at the same time. We LOVED Rancho Grande. Alex's love of the goats was infectious, the Rock (Game) Room was beyond entertaining, our boys were obsessed with rides on the John Deere Gator, the boats on the lake were a blast, the astronomy lesson with the two telescopes on property (a must do extra), and the alpacas and tons of eggs in the chicken coop made it such a memorable stay. Alex and Richard went above and beyond and are consummate hosts. Their attention to detail and helpfulness made things so easy. They appeared out of nowhere when you needed them, but gave us tons of privacy to just roam the 200 acres and explore. Unforgettable. Many thanks.

-Cindy
  September 2021

Rancho Grande is the perfect place to get away from it all. Richard greeted us right away and made us feel at home. We had picked up groceries along the way so he immediately showed us the way to Shelly’s Shake to offload. Shelly’s Shake is a large gathering room with an equally large kitchen, located right next to the beautiful lake where we spent most of our time swimming, fishing and boating. The water was the perfect temperature. When we weren’t in the water we were cooking in the kitchen, grilling burgers on the BBQ, napping in the hammocks, playing pool in the game room, driving the trails, playing with the dogs and roasting marshmallows. The Yurts were beautifully decorated, perfectly ventilated and nestled against the forest. The cabin (with A/C) was centrally located near all the animals. Mornings were spectacular. With my coffee in hand and sitting on the porch I would watch the goats, chickens, dogs and squirrels play. We gathered fresh eggs from the chicken coup, said hello to the pigs in passing and visited with the horses and Alpacas. A very unique experience was when Alex brought the goats out for their morning walk. The goats were so friendly. They gathered around us, all 125 of them, as we fed them fresh apples from the trees. So fun 😊 Nights were breathtaking – with no city lights the sky was filled with stars and the Milky Way. After a very long day of working on the ranch Alex offered to show us Saturn and Jupiter through this high powered telescope he had located in a field. The site of Saturn's rings and the shades of Jupiter were like pictures out of a textbook - truly amazing. I recommend having night binoculars. While sitting next to the campfire by the lake we heard something – looking through our night binoculars we could see a Mama Dear and her babies drinking from the lake. The next day we spotted them up in the mountains. Richard and Alex were very considerate, thoughtful and helpful. Alex was always around to assist us with whatever we needed. Even while working Alex would stop to talk with us about the ranch. We couldn’t have felt more welcomed and comfortable. We are already planning our next trip to Rancho Grande with more of our friends. I highly recommend visiting the ranch. You won’t want to leave 😊

-Linda
  September 2021

Our stay at Rancho Grande was truly the highlight of our summer vacation! Alex and Richard are incredibly welcoming hosts, accommodating and easy going. They took time to show us around, patiently answered our questions and frequently checked in with us to make sure we were happy and comfortable while giving us the space to explore, relax, and experience the ranch on our own. We appreciated all the thoughtful details put into creating this wonderful experience (fishing poles and bait ready for our use, our own gator to get around, hammocks everywhere, access to fresh eggs and the greenhouse endless opportunities for games and relaxation throughout). We had everything we could possibly need and then some! Our tent and bed were lovely, with plenty of space and privacy. Our family bathroom was clean, comfortable and perfectly situated. The amazingly well-stocked chief's kitchen, wonderful to cook in. We loved the eclectic decor, and the humorous touches throughout the ranch. Our 12 year old son had a great time chasing bull frogs at night, catching fish off the dock/boats, and learning to play pool in the rock room. We loved hanging out by the pond, listening to music while cooking on the BBQ and relaxing around the fire pit. Special highlights: walking and interacting with the goats, and Alex kindly showing us Saturn, Jupiter and the Milky Way with their cool telescope! We can't say enough good things about our stay at Rancho Grande!

-Elisha
  August 2021

We stayed at the Howard Creek Camp. Furnished glamping in a safari tent on a carpeted concrete faux wood platform. Fresh salad fixings from the greenhouse and fresh eggs made for real farm to table meals. Connected with the ponies, sheep, chickens, alpacas, dogs, goats, and horses - sharing the space and efforts. Pond is good for easy boating for kids. Went everywhere on John Deere Gator cart - fun! Perfect if you want to unplug from the busy droning of city life.

-David
  August 2021

This is such a fun experience! We lived six weeks of summer camp in a weekend with our kids at Rancho Grande. Richard and Alex were amazing hosts. They were so welcoming. They showed us around the property and let us interact with the animals whenever we wanted. We fished. we swam, we boated, we roasted marshmallows and cooked s’mores, picked up eggs from the chicken coup first thing in the morning, rode all around the property, played with llamas, and chased goats - I love those goats. We had the most laid back and, yet entertaining time. We can’t wait to come back!

-Scott
  August 2021

We had such a great time during our stay. The Ranch is absolutely magical and truly one of the most special places I have been to. There is so much to do at the ranch. You can hike, play with farm animal, swim and fish in the pond, play games in the amazing game room, play basketball or even play baseball on the field. Yes they have a baseball field!! My kids really enjoyed driving all over the farm in the gator tractor that the owners give you to use during your stay. The most memorable part of our trip was the goat walk. We got to take a walk with 150 goats. It was fantastic! The host Alex and Richard are such amazing people. They were so welcoming! We cant wait to go back!

-Denise
  August 2021

Only need One word to describe Rancho Grande… Magical. Our family has fallen head over heels for this place. From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave, Alex and Richard go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. We are already trying to align the stars (our calendars 🤣) for our next return. Can’t wait to come back and give all of those animals some hugs! Thanks again for the special memories!

-Erica
  August 2021

Rancho Grande is an amazing place! Can’t even begin to say how much fun our family of five had, from the animals, to the lake with boats/fishing, the baseball field, endless walking possibilities and the gator that takes you wherever you want to go on the ranch. We stayed in the cowboy cabin which was perfect for us, very comfy beds, very clean and spacious and really decorated nicely with a cowboy theme. Can’t wait to come back, maybe in the winter this time. Thank you Alex and Richard, the owners and Charles for answering our questions and a truly wonderful holiday we won’t forget!!

-Dia
  August 2021

This was one of the greatest vacations our family has ever had! Alex, Richard and Linda went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They gave us a detailed tour of their gorgeous property, showed us Saturn and Jupiter through their telescope, lead us in walking the goats and taught us so much about their animals. The whole family loved swimming, fishing and boating in the lake. The safari tents were beautiful, comfortable and clean. We made wonderful memories here that will last a lifetime!

-Rebecca
  August 2021

Beautiful host family that wants nothing but a happy stay. They provided everything and were so flexible and accomodating. This is a very unique experience for city folks and true way to enjoy the ranch style life. Animals were a treat for my kids. Thank you Richard, alex and linda.

-Jia
  August 2021

This is an INCREDIBLE ranch stay. It's private, serene, and beautiful. There is so much to do - from fishing and boating to riding the gator and stargazing. And we were amazed to see Saturn and Jupiter through your telescope. Thank you for going above and beyond to make this trip a highlight of our covid year! but the biggest perk was interacting with the animals! The animals, especially the goats, were gentle and affectionate. The cabin was clean, full kitchen was well stocked, and there was a/c to help with the summer heat. Because the cabin was near the animals, it made it easy to explore and play with them. Richard & Alex were so kind and gracious. Highly recommend, especially with kids!

-Julia
  August 2021

This is such a special place. It is extremely peaceful, and there is so much to do. The Murad’s are lovely hosts, and the animals are very well loved and friendly. Four of us stayed in the cabin and we were very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, and we loved eating our meals on the porch watching the animals. We were there 4 nights, and we should have stayed a week. Our four year old daughter loved it, and didn’t want to leave. Highlights for her were hugging goats, her new friend Simon (a beautiful German Shepherd), catching her first fish, riding Yogi (a very sweet horse) and lots of swimming with the baby ducks. Highlights for the adults were the quiet, beautiful sunsets, walks/hiking, seeing Saturn, campfires every night and the goats - they’re hilarious. It was the perfect summer trip, we’ll definitely visit again.

-Holly
  August 2021

Wonderful, unique experience. Hosts have thought of everything to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Kids swam in the pond, fishing, canoeing, boating, campfire. Loved it.

-Murtaza
  August 2021

We had the best family weekend getaway. Richard was so nice and provided us with everything. We enjoyed eating breakfast by the lake. Fishing, canoeing, meeting the animals, stargazing and horsebackriding. So much to do and see. We love the 4X4 gator that you can go anywhere you want at the ranch. Very relaxing and peaceful weekend with the family. Thank you Rancho Grande❤️🛖🛶🐴🌿

-Katherine
  July 2021

One of a kind experience! Richard and Alex and everyone on the ranch is super nice. We had a great time playing with animals, riding horse, fishing at the pond, cooking fresh eggs in the kitchen, etc! Although it’s very nature and you will get dirt and see bugs, the tent and our private bathroom is very fresh and clean! A++ experience and thank you Richard and Alex!

-Vivian
  July 2021

Had such a fun girls weekend at Rancho Grande. . Definitely exceeded all my expectations .which was high because Colleen Ballinger really talked it up, From the yurt , lake, animals , horse back riding, to having the freedom to ride the gator (our own) around whole property. What a beautiful, and special place this family has created and continue to create. I can’t wait to come back, and introduce others I love to this place. Definitely making this annual trip!

-Claire
  July 2021

Very enjoyable and hands on experience for the whole family. The owners were super nice and generous about using resources, and gave detailed explanations about the whole area. The children especially loved times spent with the farm animals and green house harvests. Definite thumbs up for the place, and look forward to returning to Rancho Grande soon!

-Insun
  July 2021

Such a great place to visit with kids! Ours are a little on the young side so would love to return in a few years to experience even more of what Rancho Grande has to offer, but the 1.5 year old LOVED her interactions with all the animals. They are SO well cared for, and as a result all super friendly and were SO gentle with our tiny humans. We stayed in the cabin which was great, and also took a peek in one of the empty safari tents and were honestly blown away by how nicely decorated and cool it felt inside. I think ideally if we return it will be in fall/spring rather than summer as it does get warm during the day. Sleeping at night actually got chilly though even without AC so it definitely wasn’t a deal breaker. Oh and driving around in the gator was another highlight of our little one’s day. Definitely glad we followed others’ recommendations to bring all your food to cook (some veggies such as tomatoes, and eggs, graciously provided by our hosts!). Only wish we had brought s’mores stuff, next time! Overall such a fun few days away from the city.

-Nikki
  July 2021

Alex was a great host. The location is perfect and the description of the property doesn't even do it justice. It is magical. The animals are well taken care of and interacting with them is pure bliss. We were there to celebrate a 15 year old's birthday. They loved the lake, canoe and fishing. It was such a great experience. We will definitely be back.

-Alyse
  July 2021

The best that nature has to offer is at Rancho Grande. The yurt is a most luxurious unplugged space to relax. The dedicated 4x4 Gator you are given for your stay makes getting to and from the bathroom and kitchen a breeze. Pack some flashlights (there is a battery operated light in the yurt) for moving about at night. For summer, bring bug spray, lightweight clothing and plenty of drinking water. We didn't come prepared with groceries, but Vons was just a 25 minute drive down the mountain and it was easy to stock up on lunch and dinner food. Farm fresh eggs made breakfast a breeze and veggies from the greenhouse were delicious. This is one amazing experience that your family will remember fondly.

-Meena
  July 2021

I’ll be honest. It took a day and a half to reset my frenetic clock to the pace of El Rancho Grande. With that said, if you want the full experience I’d recommend staying more than a couple of days. While it may not seem there’s a lot to do at first, adventure awaits you here. I kept waiting for our 3 boys (9/13/15) to get bored and it never happened. Getting to know Alex’s goats was a definite highlight. That, along with standing among alpacas, picking our own veggies, gathering eggs, cooking commune style in a giant rustic, ultra-equipped kitchen, happy hour basketball and twilight baseball, wow!! And did I mention all the fishing, interspersed with boat and canoe riding and jumping off the dock into the freshest, coolest PRIVATE pond?! That plus s’mores, pool and Wimbledon championships on the big screen (yes, we spent time indoors too. It was 90 plus degrees out)! Can’t wait to return for the peaches, the waterfall and some animal births that we probably just missed. Thank you Alex. Your humble pride and gentle heart speak volumes🧡

-Rachel
  July 2021

I echo all the sentiments in other reviews.Our hosts were wonderful and you can tell they take great pride in their land and the animals; and they were so friendly and hospitable. We enjoyed petting the animals, seeing newly born lambs and llamas. My four year old couldn’t get enough of the lake and s’mores. We stayed in the cabin which comfortable and located near the entrance- steps away from the animals. We got to enjoy the sunset over mountains from the porch. The cabin was very comfortable and we throughly loved the book with the beautiful photos of the animals and the farm with touching quotes about what nature and animals can teach us if we listen. We bought some adorable souvenirs from the general store. We couldn’t have hoped for more from it stay here. We will be back

-Erin
  July 2021

This was a lovely expedition. The location is peaceful and relaxing. Tent was clean and charming and the private bathroom and spacious kitchen made it a perfect glamping experience. Host was very nice and informative. While it was hot (end of June), a nice breeze and cool lake made it bearable. Everything was above my expectations and I would absolutely go again.

-Elyse
  July 2021

Rancho Grande was wonderful! We enjoyed our cabin, the gator/golf cart on steroids, the lake, and most of all the animals (our kids are asking if we can come back for baby goat season). Richard, Linda and Alex were all very warm, welcoming and provided so many thoughtful touches. Highly recommend Kerri and the horse trail ride. The horses are super sweet and Kerri a great instructor. Towels, sheets and toiletries were 1st rate- cabin shower was great. A couple tips I would add are 1) bring ear plugs if you’re a sensitive sleeper and sleeping in cabin (roosters are close) 2) definitely eat the fresh eggs and salad ingredients from the green house 3) bring a floatie for the lake - my kids preferred those though they enjoyed the boats too 4) bring groceries so you don’t need to leave 5) fishing was remarkably easy 6) there is a full kitchen in the cabin but the lake house had amazing restaurant grade equipment. What a special place and grateful they share this with the public.

-Ann
  June 2021

This was one of the best trips we have been on! My husband and I loved everything about this place, great kitchen, our own bathroom/shower, tent was incredible. We got to enjoy the campfire every night. Stayed up as late as we wanted, looking at the stars. We got to experience the camping feel without the extra work of setting up and without having to go without actual bathrooms. The hosts Alex and Richard were always available for anything we may need, and wanted to make sure that we were always happy. We can’t wait to come back and we are already planning our next stay. Thanks Alex and Richard for a great experience!

-Veronica
  June 2021

We had an absolutely magical couple of nights staying here. Such a beautiful property, and a perfect place for families. Or anyone wanting to get back to nature and off the grid for a few days. We wished we could have stayed longer. The accomodation was really luxury camping, super comfortable beds. And the communal kitchen is incredibly well equipped. There are so many great places to explore and relax. We fished, rode horses, fed goats, collected fresh eggs each morning, swam in the lake and toasted marshmallows over the fire. 10/10

-Brant
  June 2021

Brought my twin girls for our annual Father daughter camp trip and found this amazing place. We had the best time meeting all the animals, horseback riding, swimming in the fresh pond and hiking. We had access to a tractor for our stay and Alex was an amazing host. We can say enough great things about this magical place and we are looking forward to returning soon!

-Stephanie
  June 2021

Expect to feel blessed when you stay on this beautiful piece of California heaven! Even during the heat and drought the ranch is a thriving, serene, private, lovely getaway! hopefully you will feel the care and special touches that make this place amazing!!!

-Carey
  June 2021

We had THE best time at Rancho Grande and cannot wait to go back. Our kids loved swimming and fishing in the lake, playing with the goats and riding horses. The kitchen was amazing and had everything you could ever want. The tent was cosy and clean.

-Lisa
  June 2021

We just had an AMAZING long weekend away at Rancho Grande with our young kids (ages 2 & 6)! The kids enjoyed meeting farm animals up close for the first time - we walked to the chicken coop every morning to enjoy fresh eggs, watched the goats wander around, fed animals, and even saw a baby alpaca and calf being born! Our time by the lake made for spectacular, calm summer memories (boating on the paddle boat, row boat and canoe, fishing, swimming, and BBQing). Driving around on the gator was fun for all. We all appreciated horseback rides with a nice, helpful guide (who worked incredibly well with the kids). All around the property we found fun, unique spaces for the kids to explore. Alex & Richard were the friendliest hosts! We look forward to returning again.

-Kelly
  June 2021

This ranch has so much to offer. All of the animals were amazing, the jeep made all of the difference. Every nook and cranny is explorable, it is like experiencing childhood all over, in addition to privacy! I would recommend this for any family or group.

-Cara
  June 2021

Our stay at Rancho Grande far surpassed my expectations! It was an amazing family experience and we are so happy we booked it! Richard and Alex go over and beyond to make you feel comfortable. Lots of smiles for this crew…we can’t wait to book our next stay!

-Tamara
  June 2021

This was by far the best family vacation we’ve ever taken! It exceeded our expectations and we will have such wonderful memories to cherish forever! The property is so beautiful! You are surrounded by the Los Padres National Forest on a real working ranch. We had so much fun visiting with all the animals and getting eggs for breakfast from the chickens. There are goats, sheep, alpacas, cows, horses, chickens, pigs, and macaw’s! Oh and some of the most friendliest dogs you’ll ever meet! The lake was beautiful and we went swimming and took the canoes out on the lake. There are ducks and lots of baby ducks too! You can fish right off the dock or from one of the boats. We loved spending time in the kitchen and enjoyed all our meals there with gorgeous views of the lake and the breezes that flow through the windows of the kitchen were my favorite.. so peaceful and relaxing! We stayed in a safari tent and what a fun time that was! We were warm all night.. the blankets that were provided were perfect! We had views of the lake and beautiful rocky mountains and trees! My sons and myself included most definitely enjoyed the “Gators”… the John Deer Jeep’s that are provided for you to get around the property! We had so much fun and my sons want to own one themselves now when they grow up (their exact words :)) !! Another highlight of the trip was horseback riding! What an incredible experience that was! So worth it! The horse guide Kerri is wonderful and full of knowledge about the ranch and can answer all of your questions. The game room was also very neat and we spent some time in there as well! Our last night on the ranch we road out to the pasture and gazed at the stars with the two enormous telescopes they have out there! Our family had the best time and we already want to come back.. in fact, we didn’t want to leave. Next time we go my boys want to try out the shooting range.. we didn’t have enough time on this trip.. there is just so much to do! I wish we would have stayed one extra day! I’m sure I’ve left out so much of all the wonderful things to do while you stay at Rancho Grande but you’ll just have to see for yourselves! Thank you Richard and Alex for an incredible time!

-Sierra
  June 2021

It was truly an amazing stay! Everything was just simply PERFECT. Part of me wanted to write a “bad review” So people wouldn’t come to this amazing place - we could book stay here more often 😉 By the time we are leaving we were already checking out the calendar for the next stay. My husband and I traveled the world and stayed in many amazing places. This gem definitely made it to the top! To give bit of the background, we traveled with two little kids. They had the time of their life with all the animals, nature and the gator! Cabin was comfortable, with everything that you need to prep your meals and morning coffee. Tons of cooking equipment, practical items that you might have forgotten like pasta, salt, ketchup, cans and bottles opener‘s. they even had sodas for mixing adult cocktails. And honestly if there’s something that you need and it’s not in the cabin - just ask Alex - he was above and beyond good host! There is no AC in the cabin but there is a mountain breeze and Richard offered to bring the fan in case we needed it (we didn’t). Kids and us were totally fine with just airing the cabin. They also have a gift store with great selection of “cowboys’ toys” and souvenirs. We are definitely coming back!

-Agnieszka
  June 2021

Words can not adequately express how wonderful our stay was at Rancho Grande Ranch recently. The accommodations were even more comfortable and unique then anticipated. Everyone at the ranch was friendly, kind and thoughtful continually ensuring that we had everything necessary for an incredible and spiritual experince. The ranch was clean, well maintained and completely safe which made our stay exceptional. The wide variety of rescued animals at the farm allowed for heartfelt and long-lasting memories we will cherish! We would recommend to anyone looking for a one of a kind experience and plan on returning in the near future!

-Tara
  May 2021

Our 2nd trip to this magical place and can’t wait to come back. The lake, the special time with the animals and the wonderful hosts are just a few reasons. The yurt was so comfortable and chic.

-Jessica
  May 2021

Rancho Grande has everything you could want - hiking, a large pond for boating and swimming, fire pits, a green house, horse back riding - and that's just some of it! I grew up on a farm and I was impressed! So many animals and they were all extremely gentle and sweet. We saw sheep shearing, the daily goat run, several lambs, newly-shorn alpacas, a day-old calf, and the nicest roosters around. My kids didn't want to leave. The hosts, Alex and Richard, were fabulous - welcoming and responsive and our stay in the cabin was very comfortable, with everything we needed. We loved being away from it all, out in nature and experiencing the wildlife and beautiful surroundings. We can't wait to return!

-Jennie
  May 2021

What an awesome experience from the second we got there.Got a tour of the place and what a beautiful place it is. We were having so much fun with the animals we didn’t make to the pond until the second day.Alex and Richard were so welcome they make you feel like it was your place too. We loved it so much, booked our next trip on the way down the mountain.

-Sheri
  May 2021

The ranch is a fantastic experience all around. The hosts are extremely accommodating, helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, with so much to do from fishing, swimming, hiking, visiting the animals, playing pool and more... Our kids had the best time, and so did we. We'd definitely go back.

-Oona
  May 2021

Rancho Grande is magic. From the moment you climb up into the mountains on the highway out of Ojai, you know you’re in a very special place. This ranch is the real deal and you will never experience anything like it. Our young children were in heaven, exploring the property, meeting farm animals, fishing, swimming and horseback riding. Richard and Alex were incredibly hospitable hosts. We look forward to returning soon!

-Lauren
  May 2021

Perfect vacation! Everything was wonderful - from the peaceful lake, to the animals, and those amazing eggs! Richard and Alex are such wonderful hosts - we can't wait to go back.

-Denise
  May 2021

You are in for a treat . Your visit to this beautiful oasis will be extremely memorable for guests of all ages and for many reasons. There is something for everyone from getting to know the farm animals to swimming in the lake. There are even fun vehicles to explore this beautiful property. The hosts are the most warm and welcoming people you will ever meet. It’s a great place to create memories and to kick back and slow down. Make sure to bring all the food and drinks you need because you will not want to leave and the trip to the nearest town is not one you will want to make once you get there. You’ll want to take advantage of the amazing kitchen by the lake too. Leave your fancy pants at home and get ready to unwind and enjoy nature.

-Lori
  May 2021

Rancho Grande was our favorite family vacation so far! This spot is heaven for children AND adults! There is something for everyone here, from fishing to hiking to up close and personal animal experiences. My children learned so much from Alex. This family is so kind and generous and relaxed. They make you feel right at home! Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

-Heather
  April 2021

What to say WOW! we had the best time at the Ranch, just perfect in very sense! connecting with the animals such an amazing experience for my boys they were so happy! picking the eggs every morning riding horse spending time with the sheep and alpacas...... fishing, the boats, i mean non stop fun fun fun..... Richard is the best host ever, the Rancho Grande is a dream place can't wait to go back! thank you Richard!

-Micaela
  April 2021

We had a wonderful time at the Rancho Grande. The tent is very spacious with big bed, there were also some board games in the tent, which we did not get to, since there were so many things to do outdoors. Animals are all very sweet, grounds are beautiful, and hosts were very helpful.

-Venera
  April 2021

I almost didn’t want to review this place because I don’t want everyone to know how amazing it is. We loved our stay. The tent was fab and the amenities perfect. But it’s the farm that truly made our stay. All the animals were wonderful - our daughter had the best time meeting and petting them - and Richard and his son were so easy going, allowing us to do it all. We can’t wait to return!

-Kerstin
  April 2021

We will never forget our incredible stay at the ranch. We loved the adorable and cozy little cowboy cabin. The kitchen was stocked with delicious coffee, pots/pans/utensils so you can fry up your farm fresh eggs in the morning, and grill by the bonfire at night. Bring groceries so you don't have to leave; you won't want to miss a minute of time you could be spending on the ranch! Our girls (7 and 9) couldn't get enough of the animals. Pups, goats, alpacas, chickens, pigs, ducks, sheep, cows... We circled the property both on foot and via the John Deere gator (another highlight!) all day, for two days straight to visit them all. The kids were asleep as soon as their heads hit the pillow at night and Mom and Dad hung out by the fireplace for a drink and to recap the adventures of the day. Horseback riding with Kerry was awesome. We loved searching for toads in the greenhouse, paddling on the lake, soaking up some sun on the dock. It was really difficult to leave this special place. Thank you Alex and Richard...we cannot wait to get back!

-Katy
  April 2021

The listing does a great job with photos and descriptions - but I promise, everything is even better than you can imagine. I visited with my teen boys... they loved exploring the property and visiting the animals on the ruggedized vehicle loaned to us during the stay and we were all thankful for Wi-Fi in the lake house (where the kitchen is located). The yurt is very large and luxurious - impeccable styling - and the king bed was so comfy. Cots and sleeping bags are conveniently located inside the cabin to accommodate those not sleeping in the bed. Thank goodness for the heater, it kept us all toasty. This cabin/yurt is in a nice and secluded spot yet not far from the private bathroom (which was nice and bright and stocked with soap/shampoo/conditioner and towels). I appreciated the huge commercial kitchen with all the pots and pans and kitchen appliances... definitely take the time to plan out your meals and bring groceries to store in the fridge and freezer. We made good use of the farm fresh eggs - we ate them every morning! Highly recommend the eco horse tour with Kerry... my kids had never ridden before and really had a great time. Teen boys can be selective as to what they deem a good vacation... and the visit to the ranch got two resounding thumbs up! I had a nice time too, it was great to unplug and be in nature while being very comfortable.

-Liz
  April 2021

We had the most amazing stay at the ranch! The tent we stayed in was stunningly beautiful and very comfortable. Richard gave us great hike recommendations and the kitchen is a huge, beautiful space to cook in. Thanks for the stay!

-Chapin
  April 2021

This place is magical. If you love animals and hiking, don’t think twice. Richard and Alex are both hospitable and easy to communicate with. We brought two kids and dogs, and everyone had a great time. The kids didn’t want to leave! We’re already talking about booking a return visit. Tip: Plan your meals ahead of time so you don’t have to leave once you get here. The kitchen is stocked with the basics and every size pot and pan you could dream of.

-Cal
  April 2021

Both Richard and Alex were wonderful hosts. They were friendly, resourceful, helpful but also maintain the perfect distance with us to have us enjoy the Ranch on our own. I got to say I really see their passion for nature and animals at their Ranch. The hosts and their Ranch made our first Ranch experience surprisingly wonderful. We definitely wants to come back again and again. The dogs are smart and friendly, all their animals are beautiful and friendly, we love them all. The fresh yummy eggs in the morning were delicious. We also had amazing Horse riding and fishing experience at the Ranch. Camp fire, roasting Marshmallow under the starlight, clean and warm tent, comfortable mattress, all the personal touches are just wonderful. I honestly didn’t expect a mattress in the tent is this comfortable, my back is very sensitive with beds when traveling and I had no back problem at all while staying at the Ranch. The kitchen is huge with high end cooking appliances, it made my cooking experience very enjoyable. This is the best place to be close to nature and away from the city and stress! I already recommending this Ranch to all my family and friends!

-Rain
  April 2021

This stay was exactly as described and more. Ourselves and our boys, ages 7 and 12, had a blast without even trying. The pond, farm, animals, tent, game room (so neat with antiques and history galore) and more gave us plenty to explore, do and spend time together with activities or just being and also just relaxing. The accommodations were very nice, super comfy bed and the boys did well in the cots. The restrooms were clean and showers warm and had good water pressure. Early spring has cold mornings and warm afternoons so pack layers. The wifi is in a couple areas of the camps only which gives us a good excuse to get offline and check out from the grind. The hosts were very hospitable and gracious. We were given tours of the ranch. They made sure we had all we needed to enjoy our stay. We could also visit with the animals and gather fresh eggs, which were amazing and the host gave us a dozen duck eggs to take home with us! We highly recommend this stay.

-Magda
  March 2021

We had an incredible time at Rancho Grande! The experience exceeded our expectations in every way possible. The photos, description, and glowing reviews don’t even come close to describing how incredible this magical place is. During our weekend at the ranch, we held baby goats, fed the alpacas, played with the chickens, went on a walk with the goats, caught frogs, enjoyed the row boat on the lake, went hiking, played pool, star-gazed by a bonfire, and explored the beautiful historic land on our own personal gator. Our 2 year old son was overwhelmed with excitement every second of the day and never got bored because there is endless adventures to be had. The experience is what you’re paying for at Rancho Grande, and it’s worth every penny. The hosts are friendly, generous, and so kind. They make sure you have everything you need and are always nearby in case you have questions or concerns, but give you plenty of space to enjoy your private vacation. Highly recommend. We’ve already booked a trip to come back!

-Colleen
  March 2021

One of a kind experience! Richard, Linda and Alex are all amazing. So friendly, helpful, hospitable, informational...seriously, the perfect hosts. This space is amazing, the amenities are straightforward and helpful. So much beauty to soak in and relax with. So much fun to engage with and appreciate. We loved playing with the animals, fishing in the pond, making s’mores over the fire, riding the horses and so much more. If you’re interested in this place, do it! But not too much because we’ll be back often and want some flexible dates. Ha.

-Adrian
  March 2021

what can i say about this incredible place that hasn't already been said? alex, richard and laura were so warm and welcoming. they kindly answered our millions of questions about the animals and sustainable farming and off the grid living and the dogs' lineage. we got to go hiking with 125 goats, hold 1 month old chicks, feed the animals, ride the horses, see a mama sheep bond with her 15 baby that had been born 15 mins earlier. the cabin was fully stocked and so cozy. one afternoon my husband and i took a nap. when we woke up, our kids were gone. we found them up at the lake, sharing a coca cola from the little store, sitting on the dock, talking. not bad for city kids. can't wait to go back!

-Gina
  March 2021

We had the experience of a lifetime immersing ourselves in the magic of this beautiful property. Richard and Alex were beyond kind and gracious hosts, making us feel like old family friends, free to roam about the property as we liked and to interact with all of the amazing animals. There were sheep, lambs (one of which was born on the day we arrived), horses, alpacas, parrots, chickens, and dogs. By far our family’s favorite were the goats. We spent so much time hanging with them on the daily goat runs and even during a snowy night. They are such sweet and funny animals. By We also went hiking, paddle, fishing, and driving around on the UTV they provided us, and so much more. The cabin had all the necessary amenities and was so comfy and cozy at night with the wood burning fireplace. We brought all our food and cooked everyday in the full kitchen. It was hard to leave, but we will always cherish the wonderful memories made here. Thank you, Alex and Richard!

-Erika
  March 2021

Rancho Grande is unlike anywhere you have likely been before. Up in the mountains near Ojai away from everything. We stayed in a yurt at the back of the ranch. Waking up here is an amazing feeling, especially if you’re used to being in a city. I was with my 4 year old son, it feels like the place is designed for kids. There is a lake nearby for fishing, a fire pit, BBQ and lake house with a full kitchen. Elsewhere there is a farm with lambs, pigs and chickens. My son made friends with a lamb called Mr Melanie. He picked a few eggs for breakfast. You get a ‘Gator’ to drive around the ranch and explore. You can ride horses and try not to get spat on by Alpacas. It’s so fun, we loved it! Richard and his family are really helpful and kind. The location is remote, so it was nice to have a few friendly people around. It feels safe out there. Looking forward to coming back in the future.

-Marc
  March 2021

This place is truly a dream! We were looking for a quiet, private location to get away and enjoy nature, and Rancho Grande delivered that and so much more. From canoeing in the private lake, to hiking, to playing games in the Rock Room, to picking fresh eggs each morning for breakfast, to roasting marshmallows on the bonfire, to seeing the stunning stars at night, we had so much fun just exploring what the ranch had to offer. Everything was very clean and the industrial kitchen was completely stocked with all of the amenities we needed. Richard and his family were incredibly welcoming and hospitable as well. We can't wait to be back soon!

-Sylvia
  March 2021

Richard and Alex are great hosts. We had a wonderful time on their farm - it’s really a unique find and experience. Both were very attentive to us and our pets!

-Bill
  March 2021

Very special and unique experience. Beautiful land, animals, ponds, streams, and fantastic location for hiking and other outdoor pursuits. The Shelley Shack was an amazing screened in shared space overlooking one of the ponds. We took full advantage of the expansive kitchen area where all 5 of us were able to put together some fantastic meals with plenty of space and every cooking amenity you could want. I strongly suggest planning for meals at the property as you will not want to waste time driving back and forth from Ojai. The space heater in the tent combined with the multiple layers of quality bedding was more than adequate to keep warm in 40 degree temps overnight. I would also bring ear plugs, as we had some pretty strong wind during our stay that made the nights a bit noisy. I am sure we will be back. This place has the opportunities for relaxation and/or adventure for pretty much any preference.

-MatthewMatthew
  March 2021

Rancho Grande is a rare airb&b gem! The hospitality for the family is centered around genuine care for their guests full ranch experience - to whatever is right for the group. We witnessed a lamb birth, cooked over the fire, bonded with the goats, sheep, alpaca, horses, cows and ducklings...I mean, the list goes on. Waste no time with other ranches/farms...this is a trip of a lifetime✨

-Sarah
  February 2021

This place is a special experience. To be part of the farm life and enjoy all the animals, the fresh eggs, the beautiful ranch and learn how much love and work goes into creating such a place. Wonderful hosts and an unforgettable experience. Perfect for kids!

-Jessica
  February 2021

A little slice of heaven tucked away in the mountains. Everything was perfect for start to finish..adventures at every turn and the most beautiful surrounds and accomodations. Top class, first rate. Our 10 yr old never wanted to leave. we will be back for sure.

-Andrea
  February 2021

Richard and Alex were fantastic hosts! They were super flexible, answered all our questions, and were great with the kids. We were a family of 4 - kids were 9 and 12. From the kids: We LOVED the animals. The dogs were so friendly and so much fun to play with. The goats were awesome too. The alpacas were funny and were fun to feed. We liked getting fresh eggs out of the chicken coop every morning. The horseback riding was super fun - everyone should do it! Catching frogs in the greenhouse was fun too. From the adults: The ranch is quite beautiful. It's nestled in a gorgeous valley, and has plenty of space to spread out. It was wonderful to be off the grid, and to enjoy nature and the animals. The kids had an amazing time -- and were already asking to book a return trip! Kerry, who did the horse-back riding lessons, was great. She was wonderful with the kids, and even let them help brush the horses and learn to take care of them. You should definitely bring your own food. Lots of options for outdoor grilling. Stars were gorgeous and plentiful. Nespresso machine in the cabin was a nice touch -- especially for those of us that love coffee.

-Jenn
  February 2021

The perfect place for families and those who need a moment away from busy lives. A little bit rustic and outdoorsy. A little bit luxurious and pampering. Engage in farm life here deeply or not at all. Enjoy the unique touches and generous amenities.

-Shannon
  February 2021

Our stay on the farm was truly magical and exactly what we needed. We really enjoyed being ticked away in the mountains and being able to go on a gorgeous hike right from our tepee. The family was so welcoming, as well as all the animals, and any issues that came up were taken care of on the spot. Look forward to coming back someday and recommending this magical place to others.

-Karina
  February 2021

we fell in love with this ranch. a spectacular way to be in nature with loving hosts and incredible surroundings. our small children were in heaven frolicking amongst the sweet animals. the yurts were clean- lighting - heat - all sufficient. we will return again and again.

-Jess
  January 2021

Amazing. Our second trip. Love everything about this place and the hosts are so sweet and thoughtful. Nature and animals: therapeutic for heart and soul. Thank you, Rancho Grande team!

-Gauri
  January 2021

Our stay at Rancho Grande exceeded our expectations. Richard, Alex, Sofi , and Kerry were all amazing. We stayed at the Fish Camp Tent, which I would highly recommend. It is very close to the Kitchen ( Shelly’s Shack), the lake, and the restrooms. It does get quite chilly at night, so please make sure to bring gloves, a beanie, thermals, etc. The 40,000 BTU heater made the tent a toasty 78 degrees. If you do book Rancho Grande, please book an Eco Horse Tour with Kerry. She is super sweet and knowledgeable. We can’t wait to come back with a group of friends in the summer, to enjoy this hidden gem.

-Josh
  January 2021

The absolute best weekend getaway! We stayed in the glamping yurt and it was cold outside but so warm inside with incredible bedding and a propane heater! There is so much to do and experience! Bring all the groceries and water/beverages you will want because you won’t want to leave! Seriously book this place you won’t regret it!

-Amber
  January 2021

A magical property with warm , attentive hosts. My wife, infant son, and I love the great outdoors, are avid campers, and this is definitely glamping at its finest. Heaters in a massive, comfortable tent... A private, pristine bathroom... a huge pro-grade kitchen... your own 4x4 Gator to tool around on the expansive picturesque property... and animals here, there, and everywhere. We were sad to leave, but look forward to experience even more that Rancho Grande has to offer in the future. Much thanks

-Evan
  January 2021

This is our second trip to to Rancho Grande and again it did not disappoint!!! We had a magical snow fall, new born sheep, and gorgeous days hiking around the ranch. Such a spectacular visit and escape for a few days of quiet.

-Sandra
  January 2021

Rancho Grande is sensational - we spent a really special Christmas at the cabin which is just magical. We boated on the lake, cooked our Xmas meal in the Fish Room, hung out in the games room and recharged our batteries in this spectacular setting. Richard and Alex were super hospitable and warm hosts and have created a luxurious home from home (except rather better than home). And as for our city dog - she loved being a ranch dog for a few days. Just the tonic we needed after a difficult year - I hope we can return again. Wonderful.

-Bini
  December 2020

An absolutely beautiful property. We had an amazing time. Our kids could not get enough of playing with the animals... playing with the dogs, feeding the goats and chickens. Riding the horses. Incredible hikes everywhere. Fishing and campfires and fossil hunting. I don't think the kids are ever going to forgive us for taking them home. It was truly a magical vacation. The owners were incredibly gracious and were always around if we needed anything, especially teaching the kids how to interact with the animals. Could not recommend this destination enough!

-Sean
  December 2020

Our family had the most wonderful stay at Rancho Grande. The boys cannot stop talking about it. It was magical to wake up in a beautiful ranch around so many animals (goats, sheep, alpacas, horses, cows, pigs, chickens). We fished on the lake, paddle boated and hiked. At night we star gazed and enjoyed quiet family time. There is an enormous game room that we did not make enough use out of. In addition to a pool table, it is well stocked with board games, toys, and a lot of books The property owner and his amazing dogs are all very hospitable and welcoming. We highly suggest this property.

-Melissa
  December 2020

Truly magical and special place! Richard and Alex were so welcoming and their communication/hospitality was just great! Brooke was amazing as well from taking us on horseback rides to exploring with us on a hike right from the property. My family stayed in the Ojai fish Camp Tent and we just loved it! Nearby we had our own clean bathroom/shower (great hot water) as well as a large top-notch, fully stocked communal kitchen and dining room with a fireplace to make great meals and roast marshmallows by the lake. So much to explore on the property from ALL the many farm animals, collecting fresh eggs for breakfast, daily goat parade, greenhouse, huge game room, fishing, boating....... My teenager's favorite was the John Deer golf cart they got to drive the whole time and fought over!! Our dog was off-leash the whole time and in heaven. You get dirty so bring your camping clothes and headlamps and enjoy yourself! Thank you to everyone at Rancho Grande! Can't wait to refer and come again! xx kalli and fam

-Kalli
  November 2020

Our stay at Fish camp was very fun and enjoyable. It exceeded our expectations. This 200-acre property has beautiful scenery, friendly animals, and a wonderful, attentive host. During the stay, we hiked, rode horses, fished by the lake while our kids were boating in the water. We cooked meals at the very well equipped kitchen. We used the jeep to explore the surroundings, and we ended the day at a very comfortable, clean bed. We appreciated the equipment, decorations, the friendly farm animals and most of all, we appreciate the owner - Alex's hospitality and attention to detail was beyond what we imagined we'd get. Can’t recommend the ranch highly enough. We will be back.

-Yvonne
  November 2020

This place is truly an amazing experience. Richard, Linda, Alex and Brooke made our stay feel so very special. It was so wonderful to see our kids eyes light up again (amidst all this pandemic stuff). We fished, we s’mored, we chilled with the goats, fed the pigs and went horseback riding. Our daughter cried when it was time to leave. Such a magical place. We will be back!

-Megan
  November 2020

My family had a such amazing time this weekend, much needed from all the craziness. Kids love the animals. We can’t wait to come again in spring.

-Angela
  November 2020

Just returned from a weekend at the Howard’s Creek Tent with my daughter for some one on one time outside. This is a magical place. Alex and Richard are perfect hosts. Advice to those booking in the winter months - Bring plenty of warm cloths, hats, gloves and layers! We also brought our own camping blankets which came in handy hanging around the tent. Also try and arrive earlier in the day if possible take advantage of the liberal check- in and check out policy. We arrived at dusk and it gets really dark fast! It was certainly an adventure trying to find our way around that first night. Also bring flashlights for everyone and maybe even camping lights for the tent. There is one powerful light in the tent, but if you want personal reading light- bring it. This is a place to really relax and be in nature- there is no electric or wifi in the tent and the common kitchen and bathroom areas have electric but not wifi so plan on really powering off . There is limited wifi in the front of the ranch by the farm - so you will be able to check in. This was a perfect weekend , we loved every moment and plan to return again with the entire family. Be sure to spend time with Alex and the goats on their daily walk/run!!

-Melissa
  November 2020

This was one of the most unique experiences in all our travels throughout California. Beautiful secluded ranch with so many unique touches. The perfect getaway for a couple or a family. Our yurt was comfortable despite some cold weather. We want the bed at home. We loved every minute... from the opportunity to engage with the many animals to the private lake; this was an experience! I can’t pick a single highlight as there were many... great kitchen space to prep meals, the game room was a favorite with our kids, scenic grounds around every turn, kind hosts wanting to answer any question, and more. We can’t wait to go back! Thank you!

-Thomas
  November 2020

We had a fantastic time staying in the yurt! This was our second trip to Rancho Grande this year, and we love it! The new kitchen area is fantastic, and Richard and Alex are the most gracious of hosts’ who will do anything needed to make your stay as comfortable as possible! Sleeping in the cold was not as challenging as you’d think thanks to some fantastic heaters and an incredibly warm bed, and we felt like we were truly adventuring as a family. The animals on the farm are all a pleasure to be around, and be sure to enjoy some of the best eggs you’ll ever eat in your life. Lots of great hiking around the property. I always look forward to coming here to relax, and enjoy the quiet stillness of nature. Rancho Grande is truly a gem of a property worth visiting!

-Bill
  October 2020

My family and I just returned from a weekend here and we feel like we hit the Airbnb jackpot. Words can’t properly express the magic and beauty of the land and the kindness and hospitality we were shown by the hosts. Highlights: the property is breathtaking. We feel so lucky we got to experience it. Fishing on the lake (we caught over 20 bluegills and catfish), riding the horses, hanging with and feeding all the animals (we loved the goats especially), the awesome yurt with the super comfy bed, the gorgeous kitchen, cooking on the fire, morning coffee on the lake, fresh eggs from the farm’s chickens, the game room, and the gracious hosts who went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable the entire time. We are so grateful for this unique and breathtaking experience and hope to come back again soon!

-Stephanie
  October 2020

This place was absolutely extraordinary. What an epic and unique property! From the amazing views, to the crazy goats running around to the beautiful fishing lake and magical horse rides, this place has it all. The tents were great and the shared facilities (kitchen and eating areas) were super nice and well stocked with everything one needs. Thanks so much Richard, Alex and Brooke for making this a memorable couple of days for me, my wife and our 4 years old daughter. We are definitely coming back in the early spring!!

-Erik
  October 2020

I don’t really know how to try to capture the magic in a review! Rancho Grande gave our family some much needed time to unplug. Our kids made memories they will never forget. Delphine says “it was the most amazing vacation I have ever been. We felt almost like we had the place to ourselves and often times we really did . We slowed down, got dirty and just soaked up the beauty. Anyone who has the chance to spend time on this sacred land will be a better person because of it. We can’t wait to come back!

-Autumn
  October 2020

What a special and unique place! Alex and his family pour so much care into this exquisite ranch. The setting is very rustic and remote (print directions to your phone, there is no reception for miles) with an awesome swimming hole/spring that feeds the entire ranch with fresh water so while it’s a farm in the middle of Los Padres Forest, it also has ducks, frogs, and herons. Bring plenty of extra clothes for cold nights, including hats (the bedding is warm!) and clothes you don’t mind getting dusty. Richard and Alex AND their pets provide excellent hospitality and the freedom to enjoy their gem of a ranch.

-Alissa
  October 2020

This was just the best place for us to get off the grid, and enjoy nature and the animals on the Ranch. Horse back riding was fun with Brooke and Kerry. Alex on the Ranch with the Daily Goat walk was awesome. Fishing was fun especially for the kids. we can’t wait to come back and visit again soon.

-Debra
  October 2020

This review is for the Fish Camp yurt. Since we were the only family staying in the yurts during our weekend, the owner Richard was very kind to give us a pick of yurts. We ended up choosing the Fish Camp yurt due to it being closer to the bathroom, shower, and mess hall to cook. Put simply, we had an amazing trip. The ranch is a beautiful place, the yurts are very nice, our hosts were so gracious and amazingly helpful, and all of the animals are so friendly and warm. We had a memorable vacation in this very special place and highly recommend it!

-June
  October 2020

This ranch is truly special! The experience was a cross between glamping, summer camp and farm stay, and our family loved it. So much to do, and a stunning quiet location in the middle of Los Padres National Forest to do nothing as well. The Fish Camp tent was spacious and the photos don’t capture how beautiful it is. The bathrooms were very clean and the communal kitchen was being renovated so a few basics were missing, but the owner got us anything we needed. He was such a lovely and accommodating host, at the ready with anything we needed, including S’mores fixins since we forgot ours. And the animals were a delight. Loved that they got to roam free during some parts of the day and our toddler got to feed the goats, and pick fresh eggs from the chicken coop. Highly recommend.

-Lilian
  October 2020

Rancho Grande is amazing and so magical. We went with our 2 year old for a family vacation. We had so much fun trying all of the different boats, riding in our gator and exploring and hanging out with all of the animals. Our 2 year old loved collecting fresh eggs, tomatoes and picking apples off of the trees. Participating in the goat walk is a must! If you are trying to decide which tent to stay in, we did get a peek at both since the other guest left earlier than we did. The Howard creek tent is very well decorated; and more private, and has a creek running right by it but further from the kitchen/bathrooms. The fish camp tent, has beautiful Mountain/lake views, but is a little less private (not hidden behind trees like the Howard Creek tent). Both are beautiful and worth every penny you pay to stay. I am amazed at how clean they are able to keep the tents- we saw no bugs or dirt at all in our tent, it was sparking clean. The bathrooms were also very very clean and private. The kitchen is well stocked and we enjoyed cooking all of our meals there and eating on the dock or in Shellys Shack. This place is so perfect. If you are thinking of booking…just do it! We will be back in the future!

-Miranda
  October 2020

Richard and his family were fantastic hosts on an unbelievable property. Richard met me at the entrance and toured me around the grounds. My tent was extremely tidy with a warm bed. Loved having a four-wheeler with which to adventure on my own, as well as a newly renovated kitchen space to prepare my own meals. Bathroom was very clean. Beyond the neat and beautifully decorated accommodations, and the hospitable hosts, the setting of Rancho Grande is a treasure.

-Allison
  October 2020

We just had our second visit in three months, and it was another great trip. There’s a ton of space to stay socially distant for Covid. The kids loved the horseback riding, and our hosts took care of our every need. Will definitely be back!

-Ryan
  September 2020

A great bonding experience with our family. It was a wonderful time with so much to do. Boats, swimming, fishing on a private, small lake. SO MANY ANIMALS! Goats, bigs, sheep, horses, chickens, and more. The kids adored singing and dancing with the macaws, getting eggs in the morning for the coop, and riding the horses. The game room was filled with fun games, a library, TV, pool table and much more. The hosts were so kind and really helpful. They made our stay easy and enjoyable. We felt at home. This is a camp like experience, so expect to get dirty, but the bed and bathroom were really clean. We loved every minute and will be back!

-Angela
  September 2020

An amazing place! Our family had such a great time! If you like outdoors and getting away from it all this is the place! The yurts are great. The property has so much to offer everyone in a family (our boys are 6,8, and 15 -they were stoked the whole time). The hospitality was way beyond expectations! We can’t wait go back!

-Bryan
  September 2020

A perfect weekend getaway with too many attractions to list. The lake, the tent, the horse backing riding, all phenomenal. Well be back!!

-Anthony
  September 2020

We had such an unforgettable and amazing time. The tent was huge, luxurious and everything in the tent was top notch and sparkly clean. The lake was beautiful. We managed to swim, fish, and kayak around it. The kitchen was fully equipped and stocked. You can pretty much make anything in there. There was no shortage of supplies. The hiking trail was well maintained and marked and we really enjoyed the view. Richard & Alex have provided us everything we needed and they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and accommodated. They gave us our own dedicated restroom and shower with fresh and clean towels and also gave us a John Deere Gator to drive around the ranch. You can never get bored in this place since there is so much to do and enjoy. I recommend this place to everyone who would like to get away from the city and relax.

-Vrej
  September 2020

We had a great time and it exceeded our expectations. It was a great escape from the city and yet close to the city. We felt very welcomed, it was like we had our own ranch. Great glamping experience!

-Rebecca
  September 2020

Experience of a lifetime! If you want to enjoy nature without sacrificing comfort, this is a perfect destination for you. This place is a nature theme park. Operated by a father and son duo that genuinely just want to share what they have and ensure you experience their ranch to the max. It’s like having a close buddy that owns it and you get to visit. They were super accommodating and made sure we felt comfortable throughout the entire stay. The tents, amenities, trails, lakes, farm animals, activities etc, were all A+. Most of all, they ensure the ranch is never crowded so you and your fam are the only ones there. Super fun and safe for kids all ages and adults! Our 3YO son has so much fun playing with all the farm animals, picking fresh veggies from the greenhouse, riding the UTV, paddle boating on the lake, etc. 3 days went by so quickly without a dull moment. Especially during these times, this getaway is the best way to unplug and give yourself a break. And while you’re at it, meet some awesome, generous hosts. We can’t wait to visit again!

-Jane
  August 2020

Rancho Grande was amazing! Richard, Alex, Shelly and Brooke were fantastic hosts and made us feel so welcome from the moment we stepped foot on the ranch. Finding their place and checking in was super easy and Richard was very accommodating to get us into our cabin early and get setup. Really helpful as we were trying to unload three kids under 6 and lots of food for the week we stayed. Our cabin was great. Two separate bedrooms and a large bathroom along with the family room in the middle worked great for us. We even setup my son with a cot and sleeping bag in the main room for him to sleep at night. Great little kitchen with a refrigerator, plates, utensils, pots and pans which was very helpful as we cooked a lot and were able to eat outside on the deck. It was August, so a little warm and a little buggy, but it was great. We also spent a lot of time in the Fish Camp common building in the back of the property by the big lake. We were able to BBQ on the fire pit outside and cook inside using their shared industrial kitchen complete with huge sinks, stove top gas burners, flat top griddle, and huge double-door, side by side refrigerator and freezer options to store our food. Fish Camp was great with the screened windows that let the wind blow through but kept the bugs out. Fish Camp also had lots of great little toys and trinkets to keep the kids entertained. The kids loved the goats and spent most of the time playing with the baby goats and walking around with them on their daily goat walks. We picked fresh eggs from the chicken coop every day. We loved riding around on the John Deere Gator, one of the highlights of the trip to be able to see the entire property and get back and forth quickly whenever we needed. We paid for horse back riding lessons with Brooke which the girls loved and she even showed them how to care for and clean the horses as well. Shelly was super sweet in spending time with our kids and sharing information about the animals and the ranch. My son thinks Alex is a super hero. Between taking care of all the animals and riding around all day working in tractors, I think my 2 year old already wants to be Alex when he grows up. Richard also referred us to a great little hike to see the Rose Valley waterfall just a mile away from Rancho Grande which was great. We were super lucky to find this great spot and spend some time away and relax before our kids went back to school. We loved every single minute thanks to Richard and the gang and everything they did to make us feel welcome and taken care of. We can’t wait to go back again!

-Tim
  August 2020

We had an awesome and memorable off grid weekend at Rancho Grande, Ojai. Richard, Alex and Brooke were all such wonderful hosts, and made sure we were comfortable and having fun! We stayed in the fish camp yurt, and it was the perfect glamping experience! The bed was comfortable and we all slept well. We loved spending our days playing by the pond – which especially refreshing given the heatwave we’ve been experiencing. We jumped off the dock for a swim, and used the paddleboat and canoe. We cooked gourmet meals in industrial kitchen in Shelley Shack, as well as on the open fire pit by the pond. We brought in all our groceries in a cooler, but also enjoyed picking vegetables from the greenhouse and gathering eggs from the chicken coop. We loved visiting the friendly farm animals, playing with the dogs, and enjoyed a memorable sunset horseback ride with Brooke. We never left during the 2 days we were on the ranch. This is a truly special place and we are so grateful to Alex for sharing it with others. It was so nice to unplug and unwind. There are so many unique touches that make this a one of kind vacation. Some notes: If staying in a yurt, the bathroom is a short walk from the cottage, so you might want to bring a flashlight or headlamp in the evening after the sunsets. The bathrooms were super clean, and each family is assigned their own. There are these battery powered lights for the yurt, but no power outlets – so if you need to charge your phone, you can do so in Shelley Shack or bring your own power bank. There is no cell service (Verizon), but there is wifi near the Shelley Shack, and if you need to contact someone, landline access if available.

-Felicia
  August 2020

We had an awesome and memorable off grid weekend at Rancho Grande, Ojai. Richard, Alex and Brooke were all such wonderful hosts, and made sure we were comfortable and having fun! We stayed in the fish camp yurt, and it was the perfect glamping experience! The bed was comfortable and we all slept well. We loved spending our days playing by the pond – which especially refreshing given the heatwave we’ve been experiencing. We jumped off the dock for a swim, and used the paddleboat and canoe. We cooked gourmet meals in industrial kitchen in Shelley Shack, as well as on the open fire pit by the pond. We brought in all our groceries in a cooler, but also enjoyed picking vegetables from the greenhouse and gathering eggs from the chicken coop. We loved visiting the friendly farm animals, playing with the dogs, and enjoyed a memorable sunset horseback ride with Brooke. We never left during the 2 days we were on the ranch. This is a truly special place and we are so grateful to Alex for sharing it with others. It was so nice to unplug and unwind. There are so many unique touches that make this a one of kind vacation. Some notes: If staying in a yurt, the bathroom is a short walk from the cottage, so you might want to bring a flashlight or headlamp in the evening after the sunsets. The bathrooms were super clean, and each family is assigned their own. There are these battery powered lights for the yurt, but no power outlets – so if you need to charge your phone, you can do so in Shelley Shack or bring your own power bank. There is no cell service (Verizon), but there is wifi near the Shelley Shack, and if you need to contact someone, landline access if available.

-Felicia
  August 2020

My family and I had the best time at Rancho Grande. The hosts were super gracious and welcoming and provided us with all that we needed to make our trip fun and memorable. This was a truly unique experience for my family with members ranging from age 8 to 75, everyone had an amazing time. We all look forward to returning soon and creating more lasting memories.

-Anisa
  August 2020

This place is a true gem. Richard and his family were so warm and inviting and made us feel right at home. During these uncertain times I cannot express how wonderful it was to have access to so much beautiful open space and forrest. From the one little baby goat who loved to jump on our backs, to the fresh delicious greenhouse veggies, to the John Deere Gator, to the luxury yurt, lake and beyond our trip to Rancho Grande was truly an unforgettable one. I highly highly recommend Rancho Grande to all who need a private and naturally relaxing getaway.

-Olivia
  August 2020

Rancho Grande met and far exceeded all of our expectations for a family getaway to connect with nature, with animals and just unwind. We wanted to stay and never leave!! It is such a special property, with amazing animals, but it is really made extraordinary by the hospitality and touches of the hosts! Our family of four, two kids 9 and 13, tried so many things in our 5 day stay but could have easily stayed busy and happy much longer. We rode horses, went fishing, swimming, canoeing, paddle boat, riflery, hiking and s’mores by the campfire. Not to mention all the time we spent feeding and loving on all the animals, from baby goats and chicks to the Alpacas and horses. We’d recommend you bring food to cook and never have a reason to leave this amazing property. A huge thank you to Alex, Shelly, Brooke and Richard for all the extra special touches and for making our family feel so welcome!

-Sandra
  July 2020

This place is truly a nature lover’s paradise. My Teens were so happy to experience life in the outdoors, and farm life as well. They made new friends there, ‘Aretha’ & ‘Ash’ and a lot more. We will be back soon, for sure. There is still so much to explore! The entire experience was wonderful. Thank you to your whole Family 🙂

-Djinamarie
  July 2020

I want to move in! My tent was gorgeous with a comfortable bed and the linens were luxurious. The beautiful property has great views and many opportunities for activities. All the animals are so happy and friendly. Fresh veggies from the greenhouse and fresh eggs are available daily. You will feel so at home, on a farm, in the middle of a national Forrest. I can’t wait to come back!

-Stephanie
  July 2020

As other reviews have accurately noted, this place provides a magical farm experience for those happy to be off the beaten track. We brought our 2 year old daughter for her first real trip to a farm and she adored it. Richard and his family are incredibly thoughtful and the personal touches made everything special – from setting up a bbq by the pond for us one night, to a kiddie pool for our daughter to splash in when it got hot. And much in between. On a current note, we enjoyed being distanced to the point where we didn’t have to wear masks just to walk outside. I can’t recommend this place enough and hope that we will be back for another visit.

-Taya
  July 2020

Rancho Grande is such a special spot. Our family of five was greeted and treated to such a fun and relaxing weekend. Alex, Richard, Brooke and Linda were such amazing hosts. We learned so much about the ranch animals and their own unique natures – our family loved it. They went above and beyond to make us feel like we were welcomed to any part of the property. We could decide to be as active or as relaxed as we wanted. From reading on the lakefront, to taking out the rowboat, to longer walks and fun rides on the John Deere….we felt a world away and it was lovely!!!

-Katy
  July 2020

The Rancho Grande is a beautiful, magical place and we loved it! This is a wonderful place to stay if you’re looking for a one of a kind experience! Wish I could have stayed longer. Richard and Alex were great hosts. Hope one day we will come back. Thank you so much for having us!

-Marina
  July 2020

Alex and Brook and Richard were all amazing hosts. They went above and beyond helping us explore the huge, beautiful property, and they personally introduced us to many friendly animals. Their huge herd of goats were our favorite. Our cabin was comfortable and full of nice touches. My daughters can’t wait to go back. It was an unforgettable trip.

-Ryan
  July 2020

We stayed here as a family getaway for my husbands birthday. Communication before and during stay was prompt. All questions were answered and local tips were given. They even offered up another yurt as being more convenient than the other with our four kids. Upon arrival we were greeted and given a tour, immediately you feel as if it’s your home away from home. Richard and Alex were more than accommodating and went out of their way to make the trip extra special. The animals, fresh eggs and veggies, the gorgeous yurt and you can’t forget the frogs! The lake is heaven on earth with paddle boats, canoe and row boat at your leisure. We loved the daily walks with the goats and the yurts were comfortable and cozy. We will make this our go to spot for years to come. Major bonus having your own gator truck to get around too!

-Paul
  June 2020

I’m not the kind of person who keeps special discoveries secret, ever. I share the wealth, all the time. But with this gem of a place, I had severe fear that if I told anyone about it, I’d never be able to book it again because it is so??incredibly??good. So, I will tell you this much, it is NOT called shmancho shmrande and it is not in shmojai. We glamped in a beautiful yurt, fridges were stocked with soda and ice cream, we had a John Deere during our stay and the people were so so so sweet. Gabriel picked and ate radishes and skipped rocks, Raphael played with frogs in the greenhouse and made friends with a dog named Watson, Anya ate her first beet which we plucked and roasted. The animals are beautiful and the grounds are stunning; there’s clearly a lot of love in that farm, Most of all, the children kept talking about how much they loved it there. We’re planning to go all the time, so don’t book it every day until the end of time and I’ll share it with you. K? @ranchogrande_ojai ?

-andreahawken
  June 2020

This place is MAGIC. I have traveled all over the world and have never experienced such a unique, thoughtful, authentic experience. I was there for my birthday the entire family and staff was so kind and hospitable and the truly put thought and love into every detail. They treated us to a private horseback ride as a gift. Super special. It really feels like you are on your own private ranch and you get to have real experiences wit so many different animals and nature. The landscape is epic, the staff is exceptional. This is a little slice of heaven.

-Jennifer
  June 2020

Had the most amazing time at the ranch for a day getaway! Everything was so idyllic and the hosts were absolutely wonderful, helpful, and welcoming. We canoed, fished, stargazed, rode on horseback, and woke up with the clouds and mountains surrounding us. Completely exceeded expectations and we can’t wait to come back!! Just as a tip for travelers – the location is a bit remote and we didn’t have cell reception the entire time we were there. They have WiFi, but just something to note!

-Alex
  June 2020

The rancho grande is beyond real words. I don’t know if any review could actually capture how truly magnificent this place is and how wonderful the people are. It will be a place that we frequent for certain! Thank you Richard and Alex for a vacation my children will treasure for a lifetime

-Andrea
  June 2020

Amazing property in a secluded location. Host, staff and animals are very friendly and accommodating. Facilities are well-equipped with lots of activities that are available to you. I had a memorable Father’s Day weekend with my wife and 3 yr old and I look forward to returning with my extended family.

-Johnny
  June 2020

Rancho Grande is a magical place. The location is beyond all expectations and the tent we stayed in was set up with exceptional taste, style, and care. It is glamping at the highest level. The host and his son are warm, friendly, and eager to help in any way they can to make your stay extraordinary. We look forward to going again.

-Eric
  June 2020

Amazing retreat, gorgeous setting, beautiful yurt, hosts accommodating without being annoying. Beautiful intense nature with no one around will def come back.

-Natasha
  June 2020

Amazing retreat, gorgeous setting, beautiful yurt, hosts accommodating without being annoying. Beautiful intense nature with no one around will def come back.

-Natasha
  June 2020

Rancho Grande is a little slice of heaven. There is so much enjoy here: hiking, fishing, pond swimming, goat walks, and stargazing just to name a few. The owner, Richard, is so hospitable and his tranquility is infectious. My partner and I had a such a relaxing and romantic time here, we will be back soon!

-Alessandra
  June 2020

incredible. i would live here if i could.

-Craig
  June 2020

This is a gem. You get to stay in middle of a national forest while enjoying the amenities of this beautiful ranch. Richard and Alex were great hosts. I couldn’t recommend enough.

-Fred
  March 2020

We had a marvelous weekend getaway at Rancho Grande. The owners, who live on the ranch, are extremely welcoming and hospitable and made our stay very special. Our kids (7 and 4) got to visit, feed and play with all the animals (goats, pigs, chickens, sheep), rode horses and spent countless hours playing games with the dogs. Nights were spent roasting marshmallows and listening to the soft songs of the frogs. The owners live on the ranch and were always around to tend to our every need, whether to start a fire, provide bottled water or eggs from the chickens, or bring extra blankets. The living quarters were very comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. The weather was a bit chilly in February but we were provided with plenty of space heaters and extra sleeping bags, which made it very cozy. The tents are spread far apart on the property. You truly feel like you have the forest all to yourself, all the while sleeping in a king bed with a fully stocked chefs kitchen on hand. We can’t wait to come back and visit again. It’s a true gem.

-Julie
  February 2020

A beautiful and soul replenishing stay. Thank you for the recharge.

-Seth
  February 2020

Very relaxing, easy, plenty of activities to choose from. Very attentive host.

-Seth
  January 2020

We had such an incredible time at Rancho Grande. Alex was an amazing host and the property was gorgeous. Plus, we got to play with goats! We will definitely be coming back.

-Josh, Los Angeles, CA
  January 2020

Alex is truly a gem. What a special place. We got to meet all the animals including my favorite lamb Eloise. ♥️

-Alyssa
  December 2019

A truely unique experience. My boys and I had a fantastic stay up at the ranch. We are looking forward to visiting again next year. Thanks for everything

-Andrea
  December 2019

Our stay at Rancho Grande exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait for our next visit. The Cowboy Cabin was very cozy and felt like we were part of the farm. Upon arrival, Alex gave us the grand tour, introducing us to the animals and it was clear how much pride and care the family gives to each and every aspect of this beautiful place. The animals were all so gentle and friendly! From the goat walk to the campfire s’mores by the lake, it was a very special experience. We will cherish this place for years to come – thank you for generously sharing your home with us! – Renee & Tony Weatherford

-Renee
  November 2019

Extraordinary stay! Our hosts were so thoughtful, the ranch feels free, our dogs and kids could play without us feeling uncomfortable. The game room was amazing, and everyone loved visiting with the animals. We got to groom the horses and hold the baby lamb! The farm fresh eggs were delicious in the morning. What an unexpected and wonderful getaway! We will be back!

-Courtney
  November 2019

What a great spot! Everyone at the ranch was super friendly and helpful. Never had a more accommodating Air BnB experience, will definitely be visiting again!

-Porter
  November 2019

Better than we could have ever dreamed of. Every touch was perfect and so fun all the way around. If you are looking for a comfortable and real experience in nature with the addition of some really cool amenities. This is it Alex was a great host full of fun information and welcoming. 6/5 stars

-Josh
  November 2019

I don’t know where to start and am almost loathe to highlight this amazing gem for fear of it being unavailable when I want to return. We had a phenomenal visit – I’ve been to many Airbnbs and this is by far the best. Everything was way beyond our expectations on all counts – warm and welcoming hosts, the unbelievable location, the gorgeous decor, the stunning property and amenities, the privacy and freedom, the adorable animals …. Come prepared to indulge in being off the grid and truly regenerate. Thank you, thank you! We can’t wait to return!

-Renee
  November 2019

We really can’t say enough about this (Website hidden by Airbnb) a short drive from Ojai (about 30 mins), nestled in the gorgeous Rose Valley and run by a family that goes overboard to welcome guests and make sure every detail is taken care of. We spent our anniversary at Rancho Grande, and it felt like we were a million miles away from civilization, yet enjoyed all of the comforts of a rustic, authentic ranch. You can have many different kinds of experiences here – we chose to take a hike and view the valley from above, but we could have just as easily grabbed our books and read by the beautiful pond. Just a lovely place….We’ll be back for more!

-Clara
  October 2019

WOW. This place is INCREDIBLE. Exceeded all expectations and was a truly magical place. Alex, Greg, Richard, Brooke, and the rest of the folks at Rancho Grande were absolutely incredible. They made us feel at home, let us play with their incredible animals (including a 2-week old baby lamb!!). They recommended great hikes, bars, restaurants. Even drove us to and from town. The ranch itself is unreal – it has so many incredible sights to explore including a big lake, baseball field, horse pastures, recreation room with pool/games/library…truly one of the best Airbnb stay imaginable. We will absolutely be coming back and plan to just stay on the ranch and skip downtown Ojai because Rancho Grande and its incredible hosts has everything you could ever want and more!! If you’re thinking of booking DO IT!

-Erin
  October 2019

Alex was a wonderful host who stayed in close contact with us after we booked and personally welcomed us to his ranch on our day of arrival. The Ranch is absolutely spectacular. Tucked in the mountains just above the town of Ojai, the Rancho Grande is a real oasis for those who want to unwind and unplug from it all. We cooked and swam in his beautiful lake and knew from day one that we would be back. Our Yurt was absolutely spectacular and perfectly appointed with everything that we needed. Alex’s place sets the GLAMPING bar really really high. We love the outdoors. But we love the outdoors even more in a Yurt fit for a King and designed with love and a passion for fine outdoor living. This is one place not to miss. Treat yourself to a good time that’s unique and totally off the beaten path.

-Sonya
  September 2019

I’ve stayed at a lot of Airbnbs around the world, and this ranks in my top 3. It was one of the most idyllic California ranch experiences that I’ve ever had. My wife and 3 kids (9, 11, 13) will never forget our time at Rancho Grande, and I hope to bring larger groups back here soon. Alex and Richard hosted us with fishing, swimming, food, drinks, games, bon fires, horse back riding, interactions with farm animals, etc. They also loaned us a fun John Deere Gator to drive all over the property. What an epic weekend. Thank you! Kevin

-Kevin
  September 2019

I’ve stayed at a lot of Airbnbs around the world, and this ranks in my top 3. It was one of the most idyllic California ranch experiences that I’ve ever had. My wife and 3 kids (9, 11, 13) will never forget our time at Rancho Grande, and I hope to bring larger groups back here soon. Alex and Richard hosted us with fishing, swimming, food, drinks, games, bon fires, horse back riding, interactions with farm animals, etc. They also loaned us a fun John Deere Gator to drive all over the property. What an epic weekend. Thank you! Kevin

-Kevin
  September 2019

The place is really well kept and designed. The hosts are incredibly hospitable and the views are exceptional. Had a blast! Highly recommend.

-Cale
  September 2019

Magical stay! Rancho Grande is a stone’s throw from LA, and at the same time an oasis in the middle of nowhere. Richard, who met us at the property, is just the most wonderful host. He showed us around this beautiful ranch surrounded by the mountains of the Los Padres National Forest, including the pond, walking trails, natural spring and baseball diamond. On the property there were horses, alpacas, parrots, chickens, two pigs and the loveliest dogs. Alex’s cottage made us feel like we were living a Western, except that it was super comfortable, especially the beds and pillows. Apart from Alex’s cottage two of us stayed in the brand new air steam on the property which was modern and a lot of fun. There were also a couple of South African tents that we visited which were huge and looked luxurious. From the kids: We loved it! We got to feed loads of their animals which was so much fun because they were so friendly and calm, especially the pigs and horses. Speaking to the parrots was hilarious, if you sang to them they danced along. We also got to ride a buggy that was ours to us for the duration of our stay. It was exciting to explore the beautiful grounds on our own. It was so relaxing and we didn’t go on our phones once because there was so many things to see and do. There was an amazing games room which sadly we did not get to explore because we were having too much fun outside. Richard is probably one of the coolest guys in California. He could not have done more to help us, whatever we needed he was happy to help! We would definitely go again and wish we could have stayed longer.

-Riaz
  August 2019

Wonderful host and wonderful experience!

-Christine
  August 2019

I’m a 50-something dad and spent a couple of nights at Rancho Grande last Friday and Saturday nights with my 17-year-old son and two of his buddies. I stayed in one of the African safari tents which was a dream come true. What an experience. We are all seasoned campers (cars, hiking, primitive). The safari tents are the most luxurious camping ever. It was surreal to fall asleep to the light of the moon and the sounds of all the night wild life, and then to by awaken naturally by the light of the sun and all the morning wild life, all the while sprawled out across the king size bed. To park, we were able to park right outside our tent, and then Richard and Alex lent us the use of one of their ranch buggies to drive around during our stay. Think the rancher/farmer version of a golf cart but with a more serious 4-wheel drive motor, drive train, and tires. We zipped around from one side of the ranch to the other multiple times of day to make the most of it, tossing whatever we might need in the truck bed. For our stay, we had access to a refrigerator and kitchen facilities to cook. To make the most of your stay, plan to spend time outside, both during the day as well as during the evenings. There’re trails to hike during the day and time to build a fire and look at the stars at night. The night sky is excellent since the ranch is at ~3,500 ft altitude and a good distance from any major metro areas. Also, to take advantage of the firewood and a fire ring for making smores next to the lake; I recommend putting the ingredients for smores on your grocery list. There a few grocery stores in Ojai that you could easily plan to drop into on your way up to the ranch to get whatever food you want to have on hand. If it’s a hot day driving up, consider a cooler for the period from store to putting it away in your accommodation’s fridge. During your stay you’ll be able to truly unplug. It was interesting to see how both the kids as well as the adults became accustomed to not having cell service except for a few visits nearby the main house where Richard and Alex were staying. This is a real working ranch, so these city boys I brought along had so many unique experiences involving various activities that relate to the day-to-day work of running a ranch. Feeding the horses and talking with their care taker while she worked on taking care of each horse. Horseback riding. The boys with me had each maybe one prior experience riding a horse; the lady who handles the rides did a great job showing the kids all of the steps to readying the horse and finally riding by themselves. Feeding the chickens. Visiting the potbelly pigs. Visiting the cows; a calf had been birthed just the day before we arrived. We also visited the sheep and the alpacas and the macaws. It was fun to just listen to the macaws practicing the various words they seem to be learning. Also visiting the goats; they have a good number of goats so don’t be surprised if a baby goat is on the way or just arrived during your stay. We also spent some time checking out the night sky with the telescope as well as just laying on a picnic table and watching the shooting stars and visible satellites pass over head. The altitude is about 3500 feet so it’s certainly cooler than down the road towards Ojai and Ventura. We were happy to have brought sweatshirts even for the late August evenings. I recommend bringing a headlamp for walking between facilities at night although Richard and Alex were happy to lend us various lights when needed. Their dogs are all very friendly and get very excited as each party arrives. The dogs only barked to let each other know something interesting was happening somewhere on the ranch or to get your attention because they wanted you to throw a ball or throw a stick. We also visited the game room and enjoyed the pool table and ping pong table and the dart set up just like you find in pubs. The kids also enjoyed playing horse shoes and spent a good many hours each day fishing in the lake from the shore of from a canoe or from a paddle boat. They enjoyed catching and releasing plenty of little perch as well as catfish.

-Ray A
 August 2019

Had the best time, can’t wait to go back!

-Miranda
 July 2019